The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 12:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
What are you implying that I don't know or am missing? We've already covered the cases that you posted. I have a case book and I know that rule.

I was asking about the first of two free throws, not the final free throw, which is what your first situation is referring to.
It doesn't matter which free throw you're shooting, enforcement is the same. If each team violates, wipe away the shot and take it away. If only the defense violates, reshoot if the shooter misses.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It doesn't matter which free throw you're shooting, enforcement is the same. If each team violates, wipe away the shot and take it away. If only the defense violates, reshoot if the shooter misses.
I realize that, but if it's the first free throw where a simultaneous violation occurs you don't go to the arrow. That's the point I was getting at.

I know the bolded part. I hope that anyone who officiates or watches this game would know that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 12:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
You're right. I didn't mention that.

I did think of this though: If Team B violates and Team A shoots a no-rimmer on the first of two shots, is it a simultaneous violation? B does violate, but is it even a violation on A since it's the first of two free throws? Wouldn't you call a violation on B and re-shoot the first free throw?
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
What are you implying that I don't know or am missing? We've already covered the cases that you posted. I have a case book and I know that rule.

I was asking about the first of two free throws, not the final free throw, which is what your first situation is referring to.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I realize that, but if it's the first free throw where a simultaneous violation occurs you don't go to the arrow. That's the point I was getting at.
If you know this, why did you ask the question? I guess I'm confused about what your real question is.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If you know this, why did you ask the question? I guess I'm confused about what your real question is.
Me too.
Apparently he has a Case Book, but not a Rules Book.
9-1 Penalty Section #3 and #4 explicitly address his play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw administration joencali Basketball 3 Mon Mar 13, 2006 06:59pm
Free Throw Administration footlocker Basketball 8 Fri Dec 09, 2005 03:12pm
Free Throw Administration eckert Basketball 9 Fri Dec 12, 2003 02:54pm
Free Throw Administration Talkinhoopsy'all Basketball 24 Sat Jan 05, 2002 02:01pm
free throw administration Todd VandenAkker Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2000 05:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1