The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
We discussed this one at length in the past year, I believe. Shooting the free throws "out of order" is not a correctable error. All merited free throws were shot. Presumably they were all shot by the proper players, and at the correct basket. Those would be correctable errors. Simply fouling up and shooting them in the wrong order is not a CE. And as long as the offended team receives their throw-in after it's all done, then all salient points of the penalty have been fulfilled.

Play on. Don't foul it up next time.
Yep, straight from the Case Book:
MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE
8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 01:20pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
is this correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yep, straight from the Case Book:
MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE
8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)
A1 who in fouled is worst free throw shooter on the team. A2 (designated FT guy) is a sharpshooter. In the above scenario A1 shoots 2 FTs (barely drawing iron). Coach has A2 ready to go nail the two technical FTs.

But officials realize they have already awarded the technical free throws (mistakenly by the officials), and now A1 is supposed to shoot 2 for the original foul. Coach A is now distraught at that prospect.

Do the officials count the result of the two as being performed in the correct order and now allow A2 to shoot the technical FTs?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
A1 who in fouled is worst free throw shooter on the team. A2 (designated FT guy) is a sharpshooter. In the above scenario A1 shoots 2 FTs (barely drawing iron). Coach has A2 ready to go nail the two technical FTs.

But officials realize they have already awarded the technical free throws, and now A1 is supposed to shoot 2 for the original foul. Coach A is now distraught at that prospect.

Do the officials count the result of the two as being performed in the correct order and now allow A2 to shoot the technical FTs?
This is where you keep the whole thing to yourself and decide with your partners that you had the correct order all along
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
In my original post, there was no disconcerting and it was the first of 2 throws. So I was correct in that the violations by both A and B wipe out the no-rim free throw and we go to throw #2.

And because we are strange people trying to consider every angle, what if I amend my OP so that the sitch is:

B2 steps into the lane early, B4 mistakenly sets up below the free throw line though outside the 3-pt line, and A1 shoots the air ball.

2 defensive violations vs 1 offensive.........reshoot the 1st throw? Or blow the whistle and mutter to your partner "can't anyone here play this game?" as you walk to the concession stand for some chicken fingers and a Diet Coke!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw administration joencali Basketball 3 Mon Mar 13, 2006 06:59pm
Free Throw Administration footlocker Basketball 8 Fri Dec 09, 2005 03:12pm
Free Throw Administration eckert Basketball 9 Fri Dec 12, 2003 02:54pm
Free Throw Administration Talkinhoopsy'all Basketball 24 Sat Jan 05, 2002 02:01pm
free throw administration Todd VandenAkker Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2000 05:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1