![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
We discussed this one at length in the past year, I believe. Shooting the free throws "out of order" is not a correctable error. All merited free throws were shot. Presumably they were all shot by the proper players, and at the correct basket. Those would be correctable errors. Simply fouling up and shooting them in the wrong order is not a CE. And as long as the offended team receives their throw-in after it's all done, then all salient points of the penalty have been fulfilled.
Play on. Don't foul it up next time.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE 8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c) |
|
|||
|
is this correct?
Quote:
But officials realize they have already awarded the technical free throws (mistakenly by the officials), and now A1 is supposed to shoot 2 for the original foul. Coach A is now distraught at that prospect. Do the officials count the result of the two as being performed in the correct order and now allow A2 to shoot the technical FTs? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
In my original post, there was no disconcerting and it was the first of 2 throws. So I was correct in that the violations by both A and B wipe out the no-rim free throw and we go to throw #2.
And because we are strange people trying to consider every angle, what if I amend my OP so that the sitch is: B2 steps into the lane early, B4 mistakenly sets up below the free throw line though outside the 3-pt line, and A1 shoots the air ball. 2 defensive violations vs 1 offensive.........reshoot the 1st throw? Or blow the whistle and mutter to your partner "can't anyone here play this game?" as you walk to the concession stand for some chicken fingers and a Diet Coke! |
|
|||
|
This is absolutely correct for NFHS. Wasn't there an NCAA interp about this a couple seasons ago? I seem to remember that it was different in NCAA.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Free throw administration | joencali | Basketball | 3 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 06:59pm |
| Free Throw Administration | footlocker | Basketball | 8 | Fri Dec 09, 2005 03:12pm |
| Free Throw Administration | eckert | Basketball | 9 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 02:54pm |
| Free Throw Administration | Talkinhoopsy'all | Basketball | 24 | Sat Jan 05, 2002 02:01pm |
| free throw administration | Todd VandenAkker | Basketball | 16 | Wed Feb 02, 2000 05:12pm |