The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18
The shooter A1 and players for A and B line up properly for the first of two free throw attempts. The administering official bounces the ball to the shooter, who catches is. The shooter bounces the ball three times but on the fourth bounce fumbles the ball across the free throw line. Before any player moves, the center official blows the ball dead, and the administration for the first free throw is started over. Are the officials correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,019
Quote:
Originally posted by eckert
The shooter A1 and players for A and B line up properly for the first of two free throw attempts. The administering official bounces the ball to the shooter, who catches is. The shooter bounces the ball three times but on the fourth bounce fumbles the ball across the free throw line. Before any player moves, the center official blows the ball dead, and the administration for the first free throw is started over. Are the officials correct?
Yes.

Is that a test question?

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18
No, but it should be! It happened in a girls game last night in Virginia. Can anyone cite the relevant rule or casebook play?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 05:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by eckert
No, but it should be! It happened in a girls game last night in Virginia. Can anyone cite the relevant rule or casebook play?
Casebook play 9.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 11:22pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 940
JR:
I am not sure why in 9.1.1, muffing the pass is treated the same as catches and then drops.
Per the casebook example, in either case the official is instructed to "sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again."

I am not sure what violation you can have prior to the ball being at the disposal of the shooter(4-7-b)
Clearly catching and subsequently fumbling has met the requirement for being "at the disposal of the shooter"

On the other hand, muffing the pass never meets the criteria for at the disposal so what violation are we trying to preempt?


Appreciate your insights
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2003, 11:26pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 940
JR:
I am not sure why in 9.1.1, muffing the pass is treated the same as catches and then drops.
Per the casebook example, in either case the official is instructed to "sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again."

I am not sure what violation you can have prior to the ball being at the disposal of the shooter(4-7-b)
Clearly catching and subsequently fumbling has met the requirement for being "at the disposal of the shooter"

On the other hand, muffing the pass never meets the criteria for at the disposal so what violation(s) are we trying to prevent?


Appreciate your insights
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
JR:
I am not sure why in 9.1.1, muffing the pass is treated the same as catches and then drops.
Per the casebook example, in either case the official is instructed to "sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again."

I am not sure what violation you can have prior to the ball being at the disposal of the shooter(4-7-b)
Clearly catching and subsequently fumbling has met the requirement for being "at the disposal of the shooter"

On the other hand, muffing the pass never meets the criteria for at the disposal so what violation(s) are we trying to prevent?


Appreciate your insights
Yo, justa, you're suggesting we all just stand there until the C counts to 10 and blows the whistle?

Nah, you aint suggesting that...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 03:39am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
JR:
I am not sure why in 9.1.1, muffing the pass is treated the same as catches and then drops.
Per the casebook example, in either case the official is instructed to "sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again."

I am not sure what violation you can have prior to the ball being at the disposal of the shooter(4-7-b)
Clearly catching and subsequently fumbling has met the requirement for being "at the disposal of the shooter"

On the other hand, muffing the pass never meets the criteria for at the disposal so what violation(s) are we trying to prevent?


Appreciate your insights
If the shooter steps into the lane and then gains possession of the "muffed" ball, the ball is now "at his disposal", and he's just committed a line violation. The purpose and intent of this rule is to not penalize accidental fumbles, muffs,etc. that really don't have a bearing on the game. It also covers the cases where the administering official throws a bad pass to the FT shooter, or bounces the ball before the FT shooter is ready for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,453
Quote:
Originally posted by eckert
No, but it should be! It happened in a girls game last night in Virginia. Can anyone cite the relevant rule or casebook play?
I officiate in northern VA. Just curious where (schools involved) this occured.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18
Free Throw Administration

Central Virginia, east of Richmond.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1