The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
it doesn't seem correct
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 12:38pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jburt View Post
it doesn't seem correct [to remove points]
Is there any harm in player shooting fouls shots out of order?

Is there any harm if a wrong player shoots a free throw?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Jburt -

re-read the list of correctable errors to see if your situation is covered; then you'll have your answer
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 01:29pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
Jburt -

re-read the list of correctable errors to see if your situation is covered; then you'll have your answer
LOL that was my next suggestion.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
Since we are on the topic of free throw administration, had this happen Mon night. 8th grade boys game. A1 at the line to shoot the first of two shots (foul on B1 while in the act of shooting, unsuccessful). After A1 releases the shot, B2 clearly steps into the lane before the shot reaches the vicinity of the basket. I say "vicinity" because the shot doesn't draw iron.

I'm lead and give the lane violation sign, then trail (2-man crew of course) blows the whistle on the no-rim. We consulted and my partner thought that because B1 violated first, we should re-shoot the shot. I thought that since it was a double violation, we wipe off that shot and just shoot the 2nd one.

Who is right? By the way, since my partner was the senior official, we went with his call and sold the coaches that way with no arguments.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
We discussed this one at length in the past year, I believe. Shooting the free throws "out of order" is not a correctable error. All merited free throws were shot. Presumably they were all shot by the proper players, and at the correct basket. Those would be correctable errors. Simply fouling up and shooting them in the wrong order is not a CE. And as long as the offended team receives their throw-in after it's all done, then all salient points of the penalty have been fulfilled.

Play on. Don't foul it up next time.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
We discussed this one at length in the past year, I believe. Shooting the free throws "out of order" is not a correctable error. All merited free throws were shot. Presumably they were all shot by the proper players, and at the correct basket. Those would be correctable errors. Simply fouling up and shooting them in the wrong order is not a CE. And as long as the offended team receives their throw-in after it's all done, then all salient points of the penalty have been fulfilled.

Play on. Don't foul it up next time.
Yep, straight from the Case Book:
MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE
8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 08:06pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
We discussed this one at length in the past year, I believe. Shooting the free throws "out of order" is not a correctable error. All merited free throws were shot. Presumably they were all shot by the proper players, and at the correct basket.
This is absolutely correct for NFHS. Wasn't there an NCAA interp about this a couple seasons ago? I seem to remember that it was different in NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
Since we are on the topic of free throw administration, had this happen Mon night. 8th grade boys game. A1 at the line to shoot the first of two shots (foul on B1 while in the act of shooting, unsuccessful). After A1 releases the shot, B2 clearly steps into the lane before the shot reaches the vicinity of the basket. I say "vicinity" because the shot doesn't draw iron.

I'm lead and give the lane violation sign, then trail (2-man crew of course) blows the whistle on the no-rim. We consulted and my partner thought that because B1 violated first, we should re-shoot the shot. I thought that since it was a double violation, we wipe off that shot and just shoot the 2nd one.

Who is right? By the way, since my partner was the senior official, we went with his call and sold the coaches that way with no arguments.
You're right. It's actually a simultaneous violation though, not double. You just shoot the second shot. If this happens on the second free throw, you do an AP throw-in on the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
You're right. It's actually a simultaneous violation though, not double. You just shoot the second shot. If this happens on the second free throw, you do an AP throw-in on the end line.
Unless there was disconcertion (doesn't sound like it from the OP, though).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw administration joencali Basketball 3 Mon Mar 13, 2006 06:59pm
Free Throw Administration footlocker Basketball 8 Fri Dec 09, 2005 03:12pm
Free Throw Administration eckert Basketball 9 Fri Dec 12, 2003 02:54pm
Free Throw Administration Talkinhoopsy'all Basketball 24 Sat Jan 05, 2002 02:01pm
free throw administration Todd VandenAkker Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2000 05:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1