The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 12:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sorry Camron but I have to disagree with you. The rule is very clear. The ball is live when it's available to any player on the throwing team. That's black and white, straight out of the rule book. The rule doesn't say that it becomes live when the thrower is holding the ball. In fact, the case play is contrary to your statements.

4.41.3 SITUATION: Following a goal by A1 the ball is: (a) deflected under the bleachers; (b) lying on the court just outside the end line; or (c) deflected inbounds but the official has retrieved it and placed it on the floor outside the end line. When does the throw-in begin? RULING: In (a), the throw-in will not begin until the ball is at the disposal of Team B. In (b) and (c), the ball becomes live and the throw-in and throw-in count begin when the ball is available or has been placed on the floor at the disposal of Team B. (4-4-7)

I'm not going to call a kicking violation in this situation but you're dead wrong if you contend that the ball is dead until the thrower is holding it.

What if team A tried to call a TO in (b) or (c)after the ball became live but no B player had ever touched it? Would you grant it?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1