Thread: Kick or Fist
View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 02:54am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by tmp44
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
On the "kick", there is nothing to call. I can't think of any violation that can be committed during a dead ball.

On the "fist", it could technically be a violation but I'm not going to call it. That's not the purpose of the rule.
Camron,

I don't have anything here..I agree that only an OOO would make this call. However, why do you aver that this is a "dead ball" situation? The original post was after a made basket.
Because the ball is dead between the time it drops through the net until the time the throwin begins. If one player is kicking the ball to the thrower, I doubt the throwin has begun.
I have no problem with any official who makes a concious decision not to make either of these calls. I asked the original question to get feedback on how most people feel about these little violations. Each individual has to make their own choices on how to manage a game.

However, I do have an issue if an official doesn't make a call for the wrong reason. In this case, I have to disagree with Camron and insist that by rule the ball is live when the player kicks it to his teammate.

RULE 4 -- SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 1 . . . The thrower is the player who attempts to make a throw-in.
ART. 2 . . . A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds.
ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

RULE 4 -- SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL
ART. 7 . . . A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal.

Since A1 is kicking the ball to his teammate A2 the ball is obviously available to A1. Thus the ball is at the disposal of a A1.
Further, from 4-41-3 we know that the ball doesn't have to be at the disposal of the thrower, but merely ANY player of the throwing team for the throw-in and throw-in count to begin.
Therefore, the time during which the ball was dead after the goal has passed and the ball is live at the time of the kick.

As an official the only decision is whether or not you are going to call it.
Reply With Quote