Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
|
Why do we enforce it that way then if that is not the rule?
Show me any case that declares the ball live and the throwin started when the ball is promptly picked up. There are NONE because that is not the meaning of the rule.
Consider 6-1-2-c. When is it at the disposal of the free thrower? When you either put it on the line or they catch it inside the semi-circle. It is not at the disposal any other way. You don't make it at the disposal of the thrower by handing/bouncing it to them anywhere else. They must be in the correct location. [/B][/QUOTE]Have you read case book play 6.1.2SitB? In that one the ball is bouncing close to the end line but ain't OOB yet. It says "If the covering official judges it is at the thrower's disposal, he/she would start the count and the ball becomes live. In this case, in (a)
NO timeout is granted". The COMMENT also says "The covering official shall start his/her throw-in count when it is determined the ball is available".
Comments? [/B][/QUOTE]
Note the official had to judge that it was at the thrower's disposal/available (meaning the thrower could make use of the ball but hasn't). That is not my arguement. I'm fine with starting the count and not granting the timeout in this case...when the ball is in a location where it could easily be picked up and thrown in but the team hasn't done so.
My arguement is that at disposal/available is not triggered by the player picking the ball up unless the location is such that it could be thrown in from that spot. It makes no sense to start the count and not grant a timeout when, after the made bucket, the ball bounces into the hands of A1, who is at the FT line. Unless that player is already sprinting, it will take a couple of seconds for that player to get OOB with the ball.
Why should the new throwin team have differing amounts of time to make the throwin based on where the ball bounces after a made basket?
[Edited by Camron Rust on Jun 7th, 2005 at 08:16 PM]