Update on this topic.
I received a call (on a different topic) from our commissoiner who is also the state rules interpreter and former NFHS rules committee member.
While I had him on the phone, I asket about this topic. His interpretatoin was largely (but not completely) in line with your position.
His interpretation was that if they picked up the ball "near/at" the endline and the throwin is imminent, the count should start and the timeout be denied. If they picked up the ball away from the endline because the ball bounced away, then the count should not be started and the timeout should be granted.
Also, the "kick" would not by itself be enough to be at their disposal.
[Edited by Camron Rust on Jun 9th, 2005 at 07:50 PM]
|