Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sure I'd grant it. Not saying that I call it by the letter of the law. As I said, I certainly wouldn't call a kicking violation just because the ball is live. But the ball is live.
I think we're discussing the actual rule here, not practical application. Camron's interp is that the ball is not live until the thrower has it. That's completely contrary to the rule.
|
No, your point of view is completely contrary to several rules. Yours is based solely on what you claim is the definition of available and disposal while it's fully inconsistent with numerous rules as I've pointed it.
Mine is based on every case play and rule presented. EVERY case covering disposal covers when an official declares it so after the players delay starting the throwin or when the ball is in a position where a legal throwin could be made. Not one of them says anything close to the ball being live when B2 picks up the ball at the FT line and is jogging to the endline.
The definitions of available and dispoal include usable. Can the ball be used for a throwin when it is picked up at the FT line? Not legally.
In fact, the NCAA rule can be used for clarification. The definitions of the throwin are identical and they add the clarifying note that the ball is not live until the player has it OOB.
[Edited by Camron Rust on Jun 7th, 2005 at 02:49 PM]