[/B][/QUOTE]
Why do we enforce it that way then if that is not the rule?
Show me any case that declares the ball live and the throwin started when the ball is promptly picked up. There are NONE because that is not the meaning of the rule.
Consider 6-1-2-c. When is it at the disposal of the free thrower? When you either put it on the line or they catch it inside the semi-circle. It is not at the disposal any other way. You don't make it at the disposal of the thrower by handing/bouncing it to them anywhere else. They must be in the correct location. [/B][/QUOTE]Have you read case book play 6.1.2SitB? In that one the ball is bouncing close to the end line but ain't OOB yet. It says "If the covering official judges it is at the thrower's disposal, he/she would start the count and the ball becomes live. In this case, in (a) NO timeout is granted". The COMMENT also says "The covering official shall start his/her throw-in count when it is determined the ball is available".
Comments?
|