Sorry Camron but I have to disagree with you. The rule is very clear. The ball is live when it's available to any player on the throwing team. That's black and white, straight out of the rule book. The rule doesn't say that it becomes live when the thrower is holding the ball. In fact, the case play is contrary to your statements.
4.41.3 SITUATION: Following a goal by A1 the ball is: (a) deflected under the bleachers; (b) lying on the court just outside the end line; or (c) deflected inbounds but the official has retrieved it and placed it on the floor outside the end line. When does the throw-in begin? RULING: In (a), the throw-in will not begin until the ball is at the disposal of Team B. In (b) and (c), the ball becomes live and the throw-in and throw-in count begin when the ball is available or has been placed on the floor at the disposal of Team B. (4-4-7)
I'm not going to call a kicking violation in this situation but you're dead wrong if you contend that the ball is dead until the thrower is holding it.
[Edited by BktBallRef on Jun 7th, 2005 at 01:28 PM]
|