The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2019, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 12
Just responding to this as I do not like this question either --

59. The NFHS answer is B. The problem is that they are clearly attempting to test one’s knowledge of the basket interference rule, not goaltending as the question states. There is no possible way that GT can occur when the ball enters the basket from below as it will either become dead when it passes through the goal while moving in the wrong direction since this is a violation or the ball will remain within the basket where if it is touched by a player, the infraction is BI. This question has now been on the exam for two years in a row. Yes the question has been on two years in a row, and I haven't liked it either time, LOL.

However in the NFHS rule book on page 61 under goaltending -- Rule 9-12 Penalty #3 "if the violation results from touching the ball while it is in the basket after entering from below, no points are scored and the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation".

My take is some computer data entry guy found that quote and hence the question and crazy wording -- the way that the question is read makes a difference (hand from below or ball from below?), and they reference goaltending, but using the hand through the goal from the bottom up is technically basket interference -- which we would award 2 points if the defense was responsible. The question I had was worded this way "If a goaltending violation is penalized for touching the ball entering the basket from below:" Then we had to choose from the options. If goaltending is penalized puts the thought that the defense did it into your mind. Terrible question in my opinion.

There is another question which I didn't like because the changed portions of the answer and all could be correct or 1 could be wrong in my opinion.

"A ball is at the disposal of a player in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:"
options are
"a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
e. Bounced to a thrower or free thrower."

They changed wording on B that I don't like and E isn't totally complete -- so I would pick B caught by a player -- because 4-4-7 says "caught by a thrower or free thrower after it is bounced to him/her." Switching player for thrower free thrower is more poorly worded to me that "bounced to a thrower or free thrower" But all of them could be considered correct since b and e are both partial statements.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2019, 04:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Follow The Bouncing Ball ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOVBlue View Post
A ball is at the disposal of a player in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
e. Bounced to a thrower or free thrower.
I like e. Bounced to a thrower or free thrower, because in the case of a free throw, either team can request a timeout until the ball is caught (at the disposal) of the fee thrower. Probably also true for a ball bounced to a thrower.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 15, 2019 at 05:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2019, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOVBlue View Post
However in the NFHS rule book on page 61 under goaltending -- Rule 9-12 Penalty #3
The Penalties under 9-12 apply to both 9-11 and to 9-12.

And, penalty 3 can only apply to BI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2019, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOVBlue View Post
There is another question which I didn't like because the changed portions of the answer and all could be correct or 1 could be wrong in my opinion.

"A ball is at the disposal of a player in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:"
options are
"a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
e. Bounced to a thrower or free thrower."

They changed wording on B that I don't like and E isn't totally complete -- so I would pick B caught by a player -- because 4-4-7 says "caught by a thrower or free thrower after it is bounced to him/her." Switching player for thrower free thrower is more poorly worded to me that "bounced to a thrower or free thrower" But all of them could be considered correct since b and e are both partial statements.
What other cases are you (as a referee) going put the ball at the disposal of a player by bouncing the ball to a player other than for a throwin or free throw?

The ball isn't at a player's disposal when it is bounced to them. It is at the disposal on a bounce only once it gets to them an dis caught (as in b). That is the point of this question....disposal, live ball, counts, etc. all begin when the player is handed the ball, catches the ball on the bounce, or could execute a throwin but are delaying. A ball in route is still dead.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 19, 2019, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
What other cases are you (as a referee) going put the ball at the disposal of a player by bouncing the ball to a player other than for a throwin or free throw?

The ball isn't at a player's disposal when it is bounced to them. It is at the disposal on a bounce only once it gets to them an dis caught (as in b). That is the point of this question....disposal, live ball, counts, etc. all begin when the player is handed the ball, catches the ball on the bounce, or could execute a throwin but are delaying. A ball in route is still dead.

I get that -- I just read that question and see a player on the court inbounds -- thrower out and freethrower on the line -- I also process that bounce as it being caught because in my head I see my self bouncing it and them catching it. Just the way my brain processes those two things lol
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 19, 2019, 04:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
I would love for this to be a rule:

39. A player holding the ball:
....
Must announce which foot he or she will use as pivot foot.
....
....
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 USA Umpire Exam Tru_in_Blu Softball 2 Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:11pm
Worst questions on this year's NFHS Part 1 exam. Dakota Softball 19 Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:22am
Struggling with 2 NFHS exam questions..... Remington Basketball 13 Thu Dec 02, 2010 06:26pm
NFHS 2010-11 Basketball Exam Questions biggravy Basketball 70 Tue Nov 30, 2010 08:34pm
looking for rule sites for a few questions on NFHS exam roadking Basketball 7 Sat Nov 25, 2006 09:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1