View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2019, 03:44pm
MOVBlue MOVBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 12
Just responding to this as I do not like this question either --

59. The NFHS answer is B. The problem is that they are clearly attempting to test one’s knowledge of the basket interference rule, not goaltending as the question states. There is no possible way that GT can occur when the ball enters the basket from below as it will either become dead when it passes through the goal while moving in the wrong direction since this is a violation or the ball will remain within the basket where if it is touched by a player, the infraction is BI. This question has now been on the exam for two years in a row. Yes the question has been on two years in a row, and I haven't liked it either time, LOL.

However in the NFHS rule book on page 61 under goaltending -- Rule 9-12 Penalty #3 "if the violation results from touching the ball while it is in the basket after entering from below, no points are scored and the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation".

My take is some computer data entry guy found that quote and hence the question and crazy wording -- the way that the question is read makes a difference (hand from below or ball from below?), and they reference goaltending, but using the hand through the goal from the bottom up is technically basket interference -- which we would award 2 points if the defense was responsible. The question I had was worded this way "If a goaltending violation is penalized for touching the ball entering the basket from below:" Then we had to choose from the options. If goaltending is penalized puts the thought that the defense did it into your mind. Terrible question in my opinion.

There is another question which I didn't like because the changed portions of the answer and all could be correct or 1 could be wrong in my opinion.

"A ball is at the disposal of a player in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:"
options are
"a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
e. Bounced to a thrower or free thrower."

They changed wording on B that I don't like and E isn't totally complete -- so I would pick B caught by a player -- because 4-4-7 says "caught by a thrower or free thrower after it is bounced to him/her." Switching player for thrower free thrower is more poorly worded to me that "bounced to a thrower or free thrower" But all of them could be considered correct since b and e are both partial statements.
Reply With Quote