The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Incorrect 2019 NFHS exam questions

I am of the opinion that a few questions on the NFHS exam this year are incorrect. Let me know what you think.

Here are the questions:

Question 59:
If a goaltending violation is penalized for touching the ball entering the basket from below:
a.
The basket counts if the violation is by the defense.
b.
No points are scored, regardless of the violating team.
c.
The ball is awarded to a team based on the alternating-possession arrow.
d.
None of the above.


Question 65:
Correctable errors do not involve:
a.
Judgment.
b.
Scoring.
c.
Setting aside a rule.
d.
All of the above.
e.
A and C only.

Question 71:
A ball which touches a(n) ________ is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's
location.
a.
Teammate
b.
Official
c.
Opponent
d.
All of the above

Question 72:
A bonus free throw:
a.
Is awarded for team control fouls.
b.
Begins with the sixth team foul.
c.
Is never more than one additional attempt.
d.
Is awarded only if the first free throw is successful.







Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
#59. I'm not entirely sure what they're asking. What enters from below? the ball? the hand? I'm guessing it is the hand. In that case, (a) is the correct answer. Ultimately, this is one of the two worst worded questions on the test.

#65. Correctable errors always involve scoring and the setting aside of a rule. Since those ((b) and (c)) can't possibly be the right answer, (d) and (e) can't be the right answer either. That leaves (a).

#71 is fine. (d) is the correct answer IIRC. What do you think is the issue on that?

#72 is less clear. (c) is actually true, but (d) is the rulebook language. I chose (d).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
#59. I'm not entirely sure what they're asking. What enters from below? the ball? the hand? I'm guessing it is the hand. In that case, (a) is the correct answer. Ultimately, this is one of the two worst worded questions on the test.

#65. Correctable errors always involve scoring and the setting aside of a rule. Since those ((b) and (c)) can't possibly be the right answer, (d) and (e) can't be the right answer either. That leaves (a).

#71 is fine. (d) is the correct answer IIRC. What do you think is the issue on that?

#72 is less clear. (c) is actually true, but (d) is the rulebook language. I chose (d).
Well, I’ve only thought about the first one listed, 59 and have a headache....If it is the hand reaching through basket from below and touching ball outside cylinder that sounds like goaltending...but it is basket interference under rules. They are probably looking for answer A but terrible question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
65, I agree is A. Correctable errors involve non judgment screwups.... Not shooting bonus or shooting when shouldn’t. Counting a 3 when it is a two. Wrong player shooting FTs. Just screwups..not making a bad foul or travel call etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2019, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
The premise of question 72 is anachronistic. Change the bonus to be "the set of free throw(s) awarded to the non-fouling team for any common foul starting with the offending team's seventh team foul", or something to that effect, and you wouldn't have a question that doesn't make sense due to rule changes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 03:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
The premise of question 72 is anachronistic. Change the bonus to be "the set of free throw(s) awarded to the non-fouling team for any common foul starting with the offending team's seventh team foul", or something to that effect, and you wouldn't have a question that doesn't make sense due to rule changes.
Except the "bonus" isn't the set of FTs. It is the ONE FT that the shooter gets as a bonus for making the first. That is why it is called the "bonus". The first shot isn't a bonus, it is the standard result.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
I am NOT a rules expert like many on this forum. I did have all four of these questions on my version of the test and scored a 98, so I got at least three out of four correct.

Question 59:
If a goaltending violation is penalized for touching the ball entering the basket from below:

b. No points are scored, regardless of the violating team.

I understood this question to mean that the ball passed through the basket from below, so there would be no points scored no matter who touched the ball. Rule 9-12-3 addresses this.


Question 65:
Correctable errors do not involve:
a. Judgment.
c.Setting aside a rule.
e. A and C only.

The definition of a correctable error in 2-10 does not include judgement or setting aside a rule.
CORRECTION: Setting aside a rule is part of the Correctable Error rule, so the correct answer is a. judgement

Question 71:
Don't see any problems there.


Question 72:
A bonus free throw:
c. Is never more than one additional attempt.
d. Is awarded only if the first free throw is successful.

The only logic I could come up with here is that c. is incorrect because you could award a second attempt if there was a defensive violation, but that is a stretch. Therefore, using my NFHS to Common English dictionary, I deduced that d. was the answer they were looking for.

Last edited by DrPete; Tue Nov 12, 2019 at 10:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Dr. Pete, please post the text of 2-10-1.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Dr. Pete, please post the text of 2-10-1.
Correctable Errors
Rule 2 Section 10 Article 1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

I told you guys I was NOT a rules expert. I read items a through e above, and didn't completely read the sentence above that says " ....if a rule is inadvertently set aside... " I guess that is the one question I missed on the test.

Thanks for pointing that out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
I am NOT a rules expert like many on this forum. I did have all four of these questions on my version of the test and scored a 98, so I got at least three out of four correct.

Question 59:
If a goaltending violation is penalized for touching the ball entering the basket from below:

b. No points are scored, regardless of the violating team.

I understood this question to mean that the ball passed through the basket from below, so there would be no points scored no matter who touched the ball. Rule 9-12-3 addresses this.


Question 65:
Correctable errors do not involve:
a. Judgment.
c.Setting aside a rule.
e. A and C only.

The definition of a correctable error in 2-10 does not include judgement or setting aside a rule.


Question 71:
Don't see any problems there.


Question 72:
A bonus free throw:
c. Is never more than one additional attempt.
d. Is awarded only if the first free throw is successful.

The only logic I could come up with here is that c. is incorrect because you could award a second attempt if there was a defensive violation, but that is a stretch. Therefore, using my NFHS to Common English dictionary, I deduced that d. was the answer they were looking for.
How in creation can there be goaltending on the ball entering the basket from below? It's not a try, the ball is not entirely above the height of the ring, and is not on its downward flight with a chance to score when it is touched. As written, the situation in Question 59 does not meet the rulebook definition of goaltending. Question 59 needs to be scrapped.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
How in creation can there be goaltending on the ball entering the basket from below? It's not a try, the ball is not entirely above the height of the ring, and is not on its downward flight with a chance to score when it is touched. As written, the situation in Question 59 does not meet the rulebook definition of goaltending. Question 59 needs to be scrapped.
Congrats, Sherlock. You have grasped why I posted that question in this thread. 😁
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 12, 2019, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
I thought that question made no sense when I saw it on the test. Is Theresia responsible for writing the test questions, or is someone else involved?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 13, 2019, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Ok, here are the NFHS answers & my thoughts on these.

59. The NFHS answer is B. The problem is that they are clearly attempting to test one’s knowledge of the basket interference rule, not goaltending as the question states. There is no possible way that GT can occur when the ball enters the basket from below as it will either become dead when it passes through the goal while moving in the wrong direction since this is a violation or the ball will remain within the basket where if it is touched by a player, the infraction is BI. This question has now been on the exam for two years in a row.

65. The NFHS answer is E. Ugh. The very definition of a correctable error provided in 2-10-1 states that it involves setting aside a rule. I answered A as several of you responding to this thread also have posted.

71. Apparently, I’m in the minority in believing that there is a problem with this question. The NFHS answer is D. All of the above, but I can prove that this is not correct. My opinion is that this is true only when the ball contacts an official.
Consider NFHS Case Book play 5.2.1 Sit C. The play details a 3-pt try by A1 which is subsequently legally touched by either an opponent or a teammate while the ball is in flight towards the goal. The player touching the try can be either within the two-point area or fully outside the 3-pt line. Therefore this breaks down into four cases to consider. Three of these result in a 3-pt goal being scored. That cannot be the case if the ball had contacted the floor. The goal would only be worth two points per NFHS Case Book ruling 5.1.1 Sit A.

I don’t know when 4-4-4 was changed, but this rule is not correct. There is a difference between a ball contacting an official or a player on the court.

72. The problem here is purely definitional. The “bonus” is defined as the second FT awarded for a common foul in NFHS rule 4-8-1. Parts a&b of that rule tell us when this second FT is awarded. Since it is automatically awarded beginning with the 10th foul in a half, the NFHS provided answer of D cannot be correct. The answer should be C. (Yes, this definition is a hold-over from the days when a single FT was awarded for the first six common fouls committed by a team during a half and “the bonus” kicked in with the seventh foul and had to be earned by making the first awarded FT attempt.)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Nov 13, 2019 at 08:41pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 USA Umpire Exam Tru_in_Blu Softball 2 Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:11pm
Worst questions on this year's NFHS Part 1 exam. Dakota Softball 19 Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:22am
Struggling with 2 NFHS exam questions..... Remington Basketball 13 Thu Dec 02, 2010 06:26pm
NFHS 2010-11 Basketball Exam Questions biggravy Basketball 70 Tue Nov 30, 2010 08:34pm
looking for rule sites for a few questions on NFHS exam roadking Basketball 7 Sat Nov 25, 2006 09:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1