The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Because the last part of 6-2-4(d)1 starts with "If the pitcher legally delivers the ball ..." which means that it's an exception to / clarification of the "hesitation" statement earlier.
But that last part that you referenced does not start as you stated. The beginning of that sentence is: In (a),(b), and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball ..." The a/b/c is still talking about the original conditions of 6-2-4(d)1, the F1 that stops or hesitates. Sorry, I still don't see how any of 6-2-4(d)1 applies without a stop or hesitation of the delivery.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
0-0 count. The batter steps out with both feet, F1 legally delivers a pitch (sans hesitation) which is 4 feet outside. Is the count now 1-1?
That's a good example of why keeping the ball live could be a virtual problem. Are we playing RB jeopardy or game management jeopardy? Lets keep it real...game management jeopardy. Issuing a ball in sitch is just begging for the beanball episode. I'm issuing one strike or two strike, depending on how big a PITA I've got.

If one strike, its either on 7-3-1, or because my KZ reference was gone and I might have been distracted from the pitch location looking where B's both feet were or my penalty strike mechanics distracted me from seeing the pitch 4 feet outside...take your pick. If you want to argue that he ball/pitch was live, I think the pitch was a strike and his second foot didn't quite make it out of BB.

If B or offense is a big PITA, then two strikes one with 7.3.1 violation and I think the pitch was a strike. If the offense is a REALLY big PITA, then B is also ejected for 3-3-1o violation. I'm not escalating, I'm trying to de-escalate.

But I still don't see how 6-2-4(x) (the balk rules) applies to any of this. There is no F1 rule violations to apply or disregard.

Last edited by bluehair; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 10:00am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? Freddy Basketball 13 Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm
Timeout Request Granted . . . When? Freddy Basketball 11 Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm
Timeout granted! "WRONG" MichiganOfficial Basketball 4 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm
When is it Granted--time-out som44 Basketball 7 Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm
Timeout Granted or not????? jshock Basketball 3 Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1