The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Flushing,Michigan
Posts: 29
While watching a jv game I viewed the following.

Team A at the foul line to shot 2 shots. "L" Official administers the ball to the Team A shooter, while he is in
possesion of the ball, the "T" Official grants a timeout to
Team B.
What is wrong with this picture???
__________________
"YOUR NEVER BIGGER THAN THE GAME YOUR IN"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:39pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Obviously this is a mistake on the official's part. Unfortunately the NF Rules states that if you grant a timeout to the wrong team, they still have to give the timeout by rule.

The reality is if this was clearly a mistake and noticed quickly, I would go with an inadvertent whistle and give the ball back to Team A and shoot the FTs. I do not see many evaluators getting upset with that remedy.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Maybe the TO was requested before the shooter actually caught the ball? One can hope. . .

Welcome to the forum.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
The Trail scewed up. It happens. Once he's granted it though, you still gotta give it to the requesting team. Case book play 5.8.3SitE.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
If you call it an inadvertent whistle, then the defensive team can still call time out at that dead ball point. So either way the defensive team will get their time out, once you have the dead ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1