![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The 6-2-4-d-1 strike is not for absolving a balk, it is for the pitch. "...if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
RB 6-2-4(d)1- starts off, If the pitcher with a runner on base stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box... ...access a strike if hesitated pitch is delivered, no strike accessed if delivery is stopped, no balk in either case. But everything in 6-2-4(d)1 is predicated on a delivery that stops or hesitates . But CB 6.2.4I is not consistant with RB 6-2-4(d)1. In the CB a second penalty strike is accessed without any mention of any hesitated delivery (the only condition that I see in 6-2-4(d)1 for accessing a second strike). I don't understand where the CB gets it's justification for the second strike on a non-hestitatedly delivered pitch when B steps out of the box. If anyone can help me understand how CB 6.2.4I justifies the second strike, I'd appreciate it. Last edited by bluehair; Thu Mar 14, 2013 at 10:44pm. |
|
|||
|
It doesn't matter if he hesitates or not, only that if he does, it is not a balk. The strikes have nothing to do with the hesitation.
Here's my problem with the second strike: If the batter steps out with both feet, and F1 delivers a pitch (hesitated or not) I don't see how 7-3-1 could apply. The pitcher delivered the ball and it was called a strike. How did the batter delay the game? Last edited by dash_riprock; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 12:35am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Maybe if I can help you understand why you get a strike for 7-3-1, you can help me understand how you get another strike for violating 6-2-4(d)1 or any another rule. 7-3-1 A batter shall not: delay the game by failing to take his position promptly in the batter’s box within 20 seconds. To me, the clock is still running even after the batter initially gets in the box. If he steps out again before F1 has delivered a pitch and the 20 seconds has expired, he has violated 7-3-1. And the rule also states that The batter must keep at least one foot in the batter’s box throughout the time at bat (except for the list of exceptions given). Once he is back in the BB, none of the exceptions apply, he can not again leave the BB. So you really have two reasons to bust him on 7-3-1. (the 20 second time limit and not staying in the BB). 6-2-4 are the Fed balk rules. 6-2-4(d) is the specific balk condition of F1 stopping or hesitating his delivery. 6-2-4(d)1 is the conditions when a balk under 6-2-4(d) is not applied, and it specifies conditions where an additional penalty is given to the batter. This exemption from the balk and the penalty associated with it are all predicated on the specified conditions of 6-2-4(d)1 the pitcher...stops or hesitates in his delivery. If F1 did not stop or hesitate in his delivery, then none of Fed 6-2-4 balk rules apply, including 6-2-4(d) or 6-2-4(d)1. If anyone can find cause for a strike other than 7-3-1, I really want to know what it is. Please use a RB reference to justify a second strike. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, to be clear, it only applies if the batter then doesn't get back in the box in 20 seconds. Play: B1 steps out w/ 2 feet; F1 stops delivery. Has the game been delayed? Yes. Penalty: None. Play: B1 steps out w/ 2 feet; F1 delivers. Has the game been delayed? No. Penalty: Two strikes!? GMAFB. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If one strike, its either on 7-3-1, or because my KZ reference was gone and I might have been distracted from the pitch location looking where B's both feet were or my penalty strike mechanics distracted me from seeing the pitch 4 feet outside...take your pick. If you want to argue that he ball/pitch was live, I think the pitch was a strike and his second foot didn't quite make it out of BB. If B or offense is a big PITA, then two strikes one with 7.3.1 violation and I think the pitch was a strike. If the offense is a REALLY big PITA, then B is also ejected for 3-3-1o violation. I'm not escalating, I'm trying to de-escalate. But I still don't see how 6-2-4(x) (the balk rules) applies to any of this. There is no F1 rule violations to apply or disregard. Last edited by bluehair; Fri Mar 15, 2013 at 10:00am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The "(a) (b) and (c)" means the stepping out / holding up the hand part. It doesn't mean the pitcher "stops or hesitates" because then the pitcher CAN"T "legally deliver the ball" as listed in the sentence. You're trying to give the editor too much credit for logical writing. |
|
|||
|
0-1. Restart the 20-second clock.
|
|
|||
|
Has the batter delayed the game? I say yes. By stepping out he is hoping to f%^k with the pitcher! If the pitcher delivers this means he didn't do a very goog job.Sometimes you just have to umpire.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? | Freddy | Basketball | 13 | Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm |
| Timeout Request Granted . . . When? | Freddy | Basketball | 11 | Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm |
| Timeout granted! "WRONG" | MichiganOfficial | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm |
| When is it Granted--time-out | som44 | Basketball | 7 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm |
| Timeout Granted or not????? | jshock | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am |