The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Stepping Out of the Box W/O Timeout Granted

High school. BR steps out of the box while the pitcher is beginning his motion. Umpire does not grant time.

I am NOT an umpire but I thought I've read on here previously that in FED the pitch is an automatic strike regardless of where it is. Am I making that up?

So two questions:

1. Am I right or wrong in my memory?
2. What if the pitcher stops and there are runners? Nothing? Balk?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
High school. BR steps out of the box while the pitcher is beginning his motion. Umpire does not grant time.

I am NOT an umpire but I thought I've read on here previously that in FED the pitch is an automatic strike regardless of where it is. Am I making that up?

So two questions:

1. Am I right or wrong in my memory?
2. What if the pitcher stops and there are runners? Nothing? Balk?
To answer your questions. Yes, it is a strike. You're also forgetting the penalty strike also. So it's two strikes for stepping out of the box and the pitcher delivers.

If the pitcher stops with runners on base after the batter steps out, it's nothing. It's a reset.

This is all covered in Rule 8 of the NFHS Rule book and Casebook.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by shickenbottom View Post
To answer your questions. Yes, it is a strike. You're also forgetting the penalty strike also. So it's two strikes for stepping out of the box and the pitcher delivers.

If the pitcher stops with runners on base after the batter steps out, it's nothing. It's a reset.

This is all covered in Rule 8 of the NFHS Rule book and Casebook.
Thanks.

Let me make sure I follow.

Pitcher continues with the pitch: Are you saying that it's automatically a strike regardless of where it lands AND if it was truly a strike then the result is 2 strikes added to the count?

I do not have a FED rulebook/casebook so I appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Thanks.

Let me make sure I follow.

Pitcher continues with the pitch: Are you saying that it's automatically a strike regardless of where it lands AND if it was truly a strike then the result is 2 strikes added to the count?

I do not have a FED rulebook/casebook so I appreciate your help.
No, It's two strikes period for the batter stepping out with time not granted and the pitcher delivers the pitch. One on the Pitch anywhere (Location doesn't matter), AND one for stepping out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by shickenbottom View Post
No, It's two strikes period for the batter stepping out with time not granted and the pitcher delivers the pitch. One on the Pitch anywhere (Location doesn't matter), AND one for stepping out of the box.
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?

Last edited by Spence; Wed Mar 13, 2013 at 10:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?
Misspoke. Its in rule 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2013, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?

For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?
It's something that you should never see.

The assumption in rule 6-2-4d and case 6.2.4I is that the batter has delayed the game by stepping out. If the umpire so judges, then, yes, two strikes can be called.

That rule and case weren't changed when the phrase "and delays the game" was added to 7-3-1 PEN. See 7.3.1F for the "right" rule -- "If the umpire felt that the game was delayed, he shall charge a strike to B1. Because of the additional strike which now has been called, the batter is declared out."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? Freddy Basketball 13 Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm
Timeout Request Granted . . . When? Freddy Basketball 11 Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm
Timeout granted! "WRONG" MichiganOfficial Basketball 4 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm
When is it Granted--time-out som44 Basketball 7 Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm
Timeout Granted or not????? jshock Basketball 3 Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1