Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence
High school. BR steps out of the box while the pitcher is beginning his motion. Umpire does not grant time.
I am NOT an umpire but I thought I've read on here previously that in FED the pitch is an automatic strike regardless of where it is. Am I making that up?
So two questions:
1. Am I right or wrong in my memory?
2. What if the pitcher stops and there are runners? Nothing? Balk?
|
To answer your questions. Yes, it is a strike. You're also forgetting the penalty strike also. So it's two strikes for stepping out of the box and the pitcher delivers.
If the pitcher stops with runners on base after the batter steps out, it's nothing. It's a reset.
This is all covered in Rule 8 of the NFHS Rule book and Casebook.