Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence
Thanks for the clarification. I've never witnessed this. Is it something you rarely see as an umpire?
For my friends who will say I'm crazy can you point me to the rule in the NFHS book? 8 what?
|
It's something that you should never see.
The assumption in rule 6-2-4d and case 6.2.4I is that the batter has delayed the game by stepping out. If the umpire so judges, then, yes, two strikes can be called.
That rule and case weren't changed when the phrase "and delays the game" was added to 7-3-1 PEN. See 7.3.1F for the "right" rule -- "If the umpire felt that the game was delayed, he shall charge a strike to B1. Because of the additional strike which now has been called, the batter is declared out."