Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair
If F1 did not stop or hesitate in his delivery, then none of Fed 6-2-4 balk rules apply, including 6-2-4(d) or 6-2-4(d)1. If anyone can find cause for a strike other than 7-3-1, I really want to know what it is. Please use a RB reference to justify a second strike.
|
Because the last part of 6-2-4(d)1 starts with "If the pitcher legally delivers the ball ..." which means that it's an exception to / clarification of the "hesitation" statement earlier.
And, to be clear, it only applies if the batter then doesn't get back in the box in 20 seconds.
Play: B1 steps out w/ 2 feet; F1 stops delivery. Has the game been delayed? Yes. Penalty: None.
Play: B1 steps out w/ 2 feet; F1 delivers. Has the game been delayed? No. Penalty: Two strikes!? GMAFB.