![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
the player who gets ball with one leg on ground and jumps off of it into air hasn't established a pivot foot yet. one leg down isn't a pivot foot until the other lands after it. the restrictions in travel rule on starting dribble say "after coming to a stop and ESTABLISHING a pivot foot" player can't start dribble with it off floor. there's also one that says when player lands when neither foot can be a pivot he can't start dribble with either foot off floor. the player in the example can come back in and touch it because he had not established a pivot foot. you correcting my screwup has me thinking--which is always dangerous. you pass me the ball and i catch it with both feet on floor or you pass to me in air with both off floor and i land with both on floor at same time. in both of those cases i have not ESTABLISHED a pivot foot yet but can if i choose to. if i then jump into air, both feet up at same time, and then, rather than shoot ball, i throw the ball to floor--and then hit it again--dribble---Legal? i never ESTABLISHED a pivot foot and it isn't a case where neither foot could have been a pivot. am i missing anything--any interp or something else obvious? just looking at the wording of the rule i'm now thinking that it would be legal. let me know what all think. |
|
|||
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
thx for replying. in my latest play i'm jumping- lifting both at same time. that happens a lot. one is not being lifted before the other. art 1 assumes one is lifted and the other is still in contact with floor. before i jump either is eligible to be the pivot but neither is ESTABLISHED as the pivot. when they both leave ground at same time i never ESTABLISHED the right or left as pivot foot. i hadn't really thought about it until now..
|
|
|||
wheels churning more..i think i can read language of art 2a1 to mean that the player who lands simultaneously has established A "pivot foot" even though we don't know yet if it is right or left foot...
|
|
|||
Quote:
When 1 is lifted, the other becomes the pivot foot. When 2 are lifted, 1 is also lifted creating a pivot foot. Can't tell which came up first, pick one. It will not matter which you pick since it is traveling for either foot to come down before releasing the ball on a try/pass. Sort of like the trick trivia questions: How many months have 28 days? Answer: All of them have 28 days....some a a few more too.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jan 08, 2015 at 07:15pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
If they both go up at the same time, it doesn't matter any more. The opportunity to have a pivot foot is gone. If you're asking if he can start a dribble in this case since a pivot foot had not been established, the answer is no.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
well, that's an understatment....at least i know what you are saying now....
|
|
|||
Quote:
Cameron and i are discussing what actions establish a pivot foot under travel rules... |
|
|||
It also says when neither foot can be a pivot, neither foot may be lifted before starting a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
the rule you are citing now deals with after i catch ball with one foot on floor, jump off that foot and land simultaneously on 2 feet. neither can be a pivot in that situation. if i dribble i have to release it before lifting either foot. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Need some rule clarification | lbsnowryder | Softball | 20 | Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:06am |
Rule clarification | snow54 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am |
CLARIFICATION ON RULE 9.8 | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:44am |
ASA rule clarification | pi010 | Softball | 4 | Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am |
rule clarification | knightsfan74 | Basketball | 8 | Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am |