The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Are you sure about that? When does a pivot foot (by rule) get established?

Can't a player who catches the ball in the above situation still legally land on both feet....and then start a dribble from that point? If they can do that, why can they not start a dribble after jumping and before landing?
you're right. i was thinking about the "lay up" type save where the guy is running and gets pivot foot then jumps off other leg etc. that certainly isn't what was typed and i didn't catch it when i re read it. I'm glad you did.

the player who gets ball with one leg on ground and jumps off of it into air hasn't established a pivot foot yet. one leg down isn't a pivot foot until the other lands after it. the restrictions in travel rule on starting dribble say "after coming to a stop and ESTABLISHING a pivot foot" player can't start dribble with it off floor. there's also one that says when player lands when neither foot can be a pivot he can't start dribble with either foot off floor. the player in the example can come back in and touch it because he had not established a pivot foot.

you correcting my screwup has me thinking--which is always dangerous. you pass me the ball and i catch it with both feet on floor or you pass to me in air with both off floor and i land with both on floor at same time. in both of those cases i have not ESTABLISHED a pivot foot yet but can if i choose to. if i then jump into air, both feet up at same time, and then, rather than shoot ball, i throw the ball to floor--and then hit it again--dribble---Legal? i never ESTABLISHED a pivot foot and it isn't a case where neither foot could have been a pivot. am i missing anything--any interp or something else obvious? just looking at the wording of the rule i'm now thinking that it would be legal. let me know what all think.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 893
Iaabo play of the week
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
you correcting my screwup has me thinking--which is always dangerous. you pass me the ball and i catch it with both feet on floor or you pass to me in air with both off floor and i land with both on floor at same time. in both of those cases i have not ESTABLISHED a pivot foot yet but can if i choose to. if i then jump into air, both feet up at same time, and then, rather than shoot ball, i throw the ball to floor--and then hit it again--dribble---Legal? i never ESTABLISHED a pivot foot and it isn't a case where neither foot could have been a pivot. am i missing anything--any interp or something else obvious? just looking at the wording of the rule i'm now thinking that it would be legal. let me know what all think.
Quote:
Art. 1...A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
When a player jumps off both feet, "one" of them (as in the rule above) has been lifted and the other becomes the pivot foot...you can pick as it doesn't matter which one it is. As such, it is too late to start the dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
When a player jumps off both feet, "one" of them (as in the rule above) has been lifted and the other becomes the pivot foot...you can pick as it doesn't matter which one it is. As such, it is too late to start the dribble.
thx for replying. in my latest play i'm jumping- lifting both at same time. that happens a lot. one is not being lifted before the other. art 1 assumes one is lifted and the other is still in contact with floor. before i jump either is eligible to be the pivot but neither is ESTABLISHED as the pivot. when they both leave ground at same time i never ESTABLISHED the right or left as pivot foot. i hadn't really thought about it until now..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 04:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
thx for replying. in my latest play i'm jumping- lifting both at same time. that happens a lot. one is not being lifted before the other. art 1 assumes one is lifted and the other is still in contact with floor. before i jump either is eligible to be the pivot but neither is ESTABLISHED as the pivot. when they both leave ground at same time i never ESTABLISHED the right or left as pivot foot. i hadn't really thought about it until now..
This is a "loophole" of sorts, not allowed. Camron's point is that you should, in this case, consider one or both of the feet to be the pivot for purposes of the traveling rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 04:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
This is a "loophole" of sorts, not allowed. Camron's point is that you should, in this case, consider one or both of the feet to be the pivot for purposes of the traveling rule.
wheels churning more..i think i can read language of art 2a1 to mean that the player who lands simultaneously has established A "pivot foot" even though we don't know yet if it is right or left foot...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
wheels churning more..i think i can read language of art 2a1 to mean that the player who lands simultaneously has established A "pivot foot" even though we don't know yet if it is right or left foot...
Not really...but I'm not sure that it would lead to any practical difference.

When 1 is lifted, the other becomes the pivot foot. When 2 are lifted, 1 is also lifted creating a pivot foot. Can't tell which came up first, pick one. It will not matter which you pick since it is traveling for either foot to come down before releasing the ball on a try/pass.

Sort of like the trick trivia questions: How many months have 28 days? Answer: All of them have 28 days....some a a few more too.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jan 08, 2015 at 07:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not really...but I'm not sure that it would lead to any practical difference.

When 1 is lifted, the other becomes the pivot foot. When 2 are lifted, 1 is also lifted creating a pivot foot. Can't tell which came up first, pick one. It will not matter which you pick since it is traveling for either foot to come down before releasing the ball on a try/pass.

Sort of like the trick trivia questions: Who many months have 28 days? Answer: All of them have 28 days....some a a few more too.
i get the 28 days one. i dont get the "when 2 are lifted, 1 is also lifted CREATING a pivot foot." i think players can and do leave floor with both feet simultaneously. if 1 is lifted the other is the pivot only because it, the other, remains in contact with floor longer. when they both go up at same time i dont see that action itself creating a pivot foot....
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
i get the 28 days one. i dont get the "when 2 are lifted, 1 is also lifted CREATING a pivot foot." i think players can and do leave floor with both feet simultaneously. if 1 is lifted the other is the pivot only because it, the other, remains in contact with floor longer. when they both go up at same time i dont see that action itself creating a pivot foot....
You're missing the point. When they jump off of both feet is one of the feet off the floor? Yes it is. If one foot is off the floor, the other is the pivot foot. Nothing says the pivot foot also has to be on the floor....they can lift it too.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 07:48pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
if 1 is lifted the other is the pivot only because it, the other, remains in contact with floor longer. when they both go up at same time i dont see that action itself creating a pivot foot....
If they both go up at the same time, it doesn't matter any more. The opportunity to have a pivot foot is gone. If you're asking if he can start a dribble in this case since a pivot foot had not been established, the answer is no.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You're missing the point. When they jump off of both feet is one of the feet off the floor? Yes it is. If one foot is off the floor, the other is the pivot foot. Nothing says the pivot foot also has to be on the floor....they can lift it too.
well, that's an understatment....at least i know what you are saying now....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 07:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If they both go up at the same time, it doesn't matter any more. The opportunity to have a pivot foot is gone. If you're asking if he can start a dribble in this case since a pivot foot had not been established, the answer is no.
the rule says you cant start a dribble with your pivot foot off the floor. if you never establish a pivot foot then you arent starting a dribble with a pivot foot off the floor.

Cameron and i are discussing what actions establish a pivot foot under travel rules...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 09:09pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
the rule says you cant start a dribble with your pivot foot off the floor. if you never establish a pivot foot then you arent starting a dribble with a pivot foot off the floor.
It also says when neither foot can be a pivot, neither foot may be lifted before starting a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
It also says when neither foot can be a pivot, neither foot may be lifted before starting a dribble.
in the play we have been talking about the player catches the ball with both feet off floor and lands on both simultaneously. either foot can be a pivot.

the rule you are citing now deals with after i catch ball with one foot on floor, jump off that foot and land simultaneously on 2 feet. neither can be a pivot in that situation. if i dribble i have to release it before lifting either foot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some rule clarification lbsnowryder Softball 20 Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:06am
Rule clarification snow54 Basketball 5 Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am
CLARIFICATION ON RULE 9.8 OFISHE8 Basketball 4 Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:44am
ASA rule clarification pi010 Softball 4 Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am
rule clarification knightsfan74 Basketball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1