View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 11:09am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
I have a hard time reconciling case book 7.1.1.D (a) and (b) with Rule 9-3-1.

Rule 9-3-1 Note: "The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds."

Since the dribble started with the toss back to the court (as clearly stated in the case book ruling), by Rule 9-3-1, a violation has occurred as soon as dribbler A1 touches the ball upon reentry to the court (assuming, per the case play, that A1 is first to touch).

Gentlemen, your thoughts?
It's an interrupted dribble, meaning the player is not a dribbler when he lands out of bounds.

Other wise, any time a player saves the ball and goes out of bounds, you'd have to call OOB if the ball is bouncing in bounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote