![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS Caseplay 7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
Thanks for finding the rule for me. I knew I had seen it, but it's a play you don't see very often. We had it tonight. I passed on the call and my partner called the violation.
It was a 3 person crew and both partners said I was wrong. It didn't think I was. Thanks. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In fact, the rule for a person leaving the court on their own is more harsh in NFHS, a violation immediately, than in NCAA, not a violation unless the person is the first to touch the ball. |
|
|||
|
If momentum causes a player to go out of bounds, that player can be the first to touch it in NFHS and NCAAM. momentum is not considered "own volition" as used in NCAA rule. volition is to make a conscious choice. case play where A steps out of bounds to avoid contact. it isnt deceitful so not a class B tech, but he did make a choice to step out so he cannot be first to touch after he returns.
when momentum takes you out of bounds you are not making a choice--it is momentum doing it.... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 9-3-1 Note: "The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds." Since the dribble started with the toss back to the court (as clearly stated in the case book ruling), by Rule 9-3-1, a violation has occurred as soon as dribbler A1 touches the ball upon reentry to the court (assuming, per the case play, that A1 is first to touch). Gentlemen, your thoughts? |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Other wise, any time a player saves the ball and goes out of bounds, you'd have to call OOB if the ball is bouncing in bounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Need some rule clarification | lbsnowryder | Softball | 20 | Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:06am |
| Rule clarification | snow54 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Sep 12, 2006 06:10am |
| CLARIFICATION ON RULE 9.8 | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:44am |
| ASA rule clarification | pi010 | Softball | 4 | Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am |
| rule clarification | knightsfan74 | Basketball | 8 | Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am |