View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 03:17pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
you correcting my screwup has me thinking--which is always dangerous. you pass me the ball and i catch it with both feet on floor or you pass to me in air with both off floor and i land with both on floor at same time. in both of those cases i have not ESTABLISHED a pivot foot yet but can if i choose to. if i then jump into air, both feet up at same time, and then, rather than shoot ball, i throw the ball to floor--and then hit it again--dribble---Legal? i never ESTABLISHED a pivot foot and it isn't a case where neither foot could have been a pivot. am i missing anything--any interp or something else obvious? just looking at the wording of the rule i'm now thinking that it would be legal. let me know what all think.
Quote:
Art. 1...A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
When a player jumps off both feet, "one" of them (as in the rule above) has been lifted and the other becomes the pivot foot...you can pick as it doesn't matter which one it is. As such, it is too late to start the dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote