View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2015, 09:35pm
PG_Ref PG_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
Can a player save a ball fom going out of bounds, have their momentum carry them out and they come back in and be the 1st to touch the ball?

Can you direct me to the rule. I think you can.
Legal in NFHS ... not so in NCAA if the player goes out of bounds under their own volition.

NFHS Caseplay

7.1.1 SITUATION D:

A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.

RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote