The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 25, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Dribbling During Inbounds Plays

Under NFHS rules, is a player inbounding a pass after a made basket allowed to dribble the ball out of bounds before he passes it to another player inbounds? Also, is the inbounding player allowed to throw a bounce pass out of bounds to a teammate who comes from inbounds to out-of-bounds to receive it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 25, 2010, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,595
Yes in both cases.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the
out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stampede2525 View Post
Under NFHS rules, is a player inbounding a pass after a made basket allowed to dribble the ball out of bounds before he passes it to another player inbounds? Also, is the inbounding player allowed to throw a bounce pass out of bounds to a teammate who comes from inbounds to out-of-bounds to receive it?
1. Yes, during ANY throw in.

2. Yes, but ONLY after a made basket.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
just curious

I'm not trying to confuse things here, but I just want to be sure that I'm understanding things clearly. I understand that according to NFHS rules, what has been posted so far is correct. Under FIBA rules, I don't think the proposed situations would be allowed (according to Art. 17.3.1), because the ball would be touching the out-of-bounds area. Am I properly seeing the difference between the NFHS and FIBA rules?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 11:09am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
1. Yes, during ANY throw in.

2. Yes, but ONLY after a made or awarded basket.
Fixed it for ya'. We all tend to forget that part.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 11:10am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
I'm not trying to confuse things here, but I just want to be sure that I'm understanding things clearly. I understand that according to NFHS rules, what has been posted so far is correct. Under FIBA rules, I don't think the proposed situations would be allowed (according to Art. 17.3.1), because the ball would be touching the out-of-bounds area. Am I properly seeing the difference between the NFHS and FIBA rules?
What's FIBA?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 11:56am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABC Coach View Post
I'm not trying to confuse things here, but I just want to be sure that I'm understanding things clearly. I understand that according to NFHS rules, what has been posted so far is correct. Under FIBA rules, I don't think the proposed situations would be allowed (according to Art. 17.3.1), because the ball would be touching the out-of-bounds area. Am I properly seeing the difference between the NFHS and FIBA rules?
As I don't have access to it, I can only ask you, does 17.3.1 specify "during a throw-in pass" or similar language?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 12:20pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
As I don't have access to it, I can only ask you, does 17.3.1 specify "during a throw-in pass" or similar language?
17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:

Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.
Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).
Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throwin.
Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.
Move a total distance from the designated throw-in place, laterally in one or in both directions, to exceed a total of one (1) metre before or while releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly backwards from the line as far as circumstances allow.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throwin.
The NFHS wording is similar, but the point is that the ball can touch out-of-bounds on a dribble, provided the dribble is not part of the throw-in-pass. Same thing applies to a pass to a teammate who is also out-of-bounds after a made (or awarded) goal - it is not a throw-in-pass, therefore, it is not subject to the restriction that prohibits the ball from touching out-of-bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 12:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:

Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.
Step into the playing court while having the ball in his hand(s).
Cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds, after it has been released on the throwin. Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.
Move a total distance from the designated throw-in place, laterally in one or in both directions, to exceed a total of one (1) metre before or while releasing the ball. He is, however, permitted to move directly backwards from the line as far as circumstances allow.
Thanks.
As sseltser notes, the key is "after it has been released on the throwin."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 26, 2010, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
The NFHS wording is similar, but the point is that the ball can touch out-of-bounds on a dribble, provided the dribble is not part of the throw-in-pass. Same thing applies to a pass to a teammate who is also out-of-bounds after a made (or awarded) goal - it is not a throw-in-pass, therefore, it is not subject to the restriction that prohibits the ball from touching out-of-bounds.
Strictly speaking it's not a dribble. It is merely a bounce. That's because neither the dribbling nor traveling rules operate during a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2010, 05:52am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by nike22 View Post
why?
Because the rules say so.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2010, 10:32am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Because the rules say so.
Would it also be fair to say that neither dribbling nor travelling can exist without player control?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2010, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Would it also be fair to say that neither dribbling nor travelling can exist without player control?
Dribbling a live ball inbounds is one way to have player control - so it is fair to say that.

Travelling can not occur* without holding the ball and holding the ball is one way to have player control - so it is fair to say that.

*with one exception.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2010, 08:17pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I think the point was that bouncing the ball on the floor by the thrower during the throw-in does not meet the definition of a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dribbling situations jdmara Basketball 18 Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:22pm
Q from 1st Year: Tight Sideline Inbounds Plays ca_rumperee Basketball 7 Mon Feb 04, 2008 09:19am
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
Dribbling and Over polo Basketball 32 Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:08pm
Not dribbling? bard Basketball 18 Fri Nov 22, 2002 08:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1