The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I would simply like to add that I agree with Snaq about giving coaches leeway on whether they have "left the bench area." The limit of the leeway is the determination of how far they come and whether they are helping or hindering me.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would simply like to add that I agree with Snaq about giving coaches leeway on whether they have "left the bench area." The limit of the leeway is the determination of how far they come and whether they are helping or hindering me.
Even though I have been fortunate enough to avoid a full-blown fight situation thus far in my career, my varsity crew has agreed that as soon as a problem like this occurs, we will IMMEDIATELY BECKON both head coaches onto the floor as they stand the best chance of helping us restore order.

Several years ago, my current crew did have a full-blown fight situation that got ugly. Since they did not beckon the head coaches onto the floor, the head coaches remained on the sidelines while the perpetrators continued. Apparently, the officials were reluctant to break up the fight from a liability standpoint. Therefore, the fight continued for a period of time.

I certainly hope that we never encounter the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Clarification on the initial foul

Gentlemen - upon further review and discussion we have determined that the initial foul was not deemed a flagrant. I went down this way:

Rio players shot is blocked and recovered by BV player, Rio player immediatly fouls and ref blows whistle. After that whistle is blown the Rio player wrestled the BV player to the ground and continues to acost the BV player physically. The players are separated and the rest of the description stands.

In light of this clarification is it possible that the referee got the BV award of 8 free throws correct. 2 for the personal- 2 each for back to back technicals while he blows the whistle and the RIO player continues to fight and two for the coach coming on to the floor.

Or possibly six due to the coaches offset as has been suggested.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 07:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm only commenting here on the initial fighting action by the Rio player. At most, I'll give the personal foul and one flagrant Technical foul afterwards; unless there is a significant gap in time between the first blow and the second blow. To me, it's all one act. So, four shots seems appropriate.

That said, I don't think there's anything in the rule that prevents the official from calling multiple flagrants against the same player in this situation.

Rio still gets only 2 free throws out of it, and they will get the ball since the BV T was last.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
As long as the HEAD COACH (not any assistant) is not being confrontational -- either with the officials or the opposing player -- and is serving purely to pull his player(s) out of any fight, I'm going to rule he was beckoned and he won't be penalized. Note that my leash will be extremely short at this point, but if he can help, I'll take it.

The best advice I can give anyone on this rule is to carefully read it, then get 2 other officials, call yourself a crew, then come up with a scenario and work through it. We did that a few years ago at a chapter meeting and while we always need a refresher, it really helped understand the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
"I Don't Understand Why You Didn't Hear Me Beckon The Coaches" ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
As long as the HEAD COACH (not any assistant) is not being confrontational, either with the officials or the opposing player, and is serving purely to pull his player(s) out of any fight, I'm going to rule he was beckoned and he won't be penalized. Note that my leash will be extremely short at this point, but if he can help, I'll take it.
Agree, even the assistants are welcome in my game if they want to lend a hand.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How should I have handled. mcrowder Softball 7 Fri May 11, 2007 01:45pm
Was this done correctly? Teigan Basketball 6 Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:22am
how should this been handled. canump Softball 15 Fri Sep 01, 2006 02:16pm
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm
How would you have handled this one? whiskers_ump Softball 5 Fri Aug 15, 2003 02:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1