The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 71
Was this done correctly?

I worked a game the other night and we had this scenario. Player was driving to the basket, and got a bump. My partner who was trail called the push...The player dribbling the ball continued his drive, just for the fun of it i guess........He went up for his layup, and got a body check type of thing. It was not "unsporting, flagrant, or intentional" but it was enough that it needed to be called. So I blew it. This whole little scenario maybe was done in a total of 6 seconds. We both reported the foul, and gave the ball back to the offended team. I was wondering did we do this correctly, and is there any rule interpretations that someone could provide.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mizzouah!
Posts: 352
You and your partner should of came together and see what foul came first. It sounds like the bump came first to me, but I would of not called a false double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tahlequah, OK
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teigan
I worked a game the other night and we had this scenario. Player was driving to the basket, and got a bump. My partner who was trail called the push...The player dribbling the ball continued his drive, just for the fun of it i guess........He went up for his layup, and got a body check type of thing. It was not "unsporting, flagrant, or intentional" but it was enough that it needed to be called. So I blew it. This whole little scenario maybe was done in a total of 6 seconds. We both reported the foul, and gave the ball back to the offended team. I was wondering did we do this correctly, and is there any rule interpretations that someone could provide.
It sounds like the "body check" (as you described it) definitely came after your partner called the push. If this is the case, you cannot call the second foul unless it is intentional or flagrant. The first foul caused the ball to become dead, so any contact afterward should be ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. If you rule that it is intentional or flagrant, you should call a technical foul for dead-ball contact (10-3-8).

Case book play 10.3.8 deals with a similar situation. Note that in your situation, this would be a false multiple-foul rather than a false double-foul if you penalize the dead-ball contact, since it only involves fouls by one team:
"SITUATION: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try. While the calling official is reporting the foul, A1 pushes B1 into another player.
RULING: Intentional contact while the ball is dead constitutes an intentional technical foul. If other dead-ball contact is not intentional or flagrant, it should be ignored. The foul by A1 creates a false double-foul situation."

Last edited by lorenj; Thu Jan 04, 2007 at 01:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mizzouah!
Posts: 352
You and your partner should of came together and see what foul came first. It sounds like the bump came first to me, but I would of not called a false double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
I doubt it took 6 seconds.

Assuming it was more like two seconds, the shot still should not have been taken, and the body check still should not have happened. But it wasn't a foul unless it was "flagrant, intentional or unsporting." If you blew your whistle, and then told the players, "Hey, play's dead, knock it off." that's not calling the foul, and is an acceptable way to let the defender know that the contact was out of line. If you reported the whistle as a foul, meaning if your crew reported two fouls, you goofed. Why did you decide that the appropriate penalty was to give the ball back to the offended team?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
If you thought the contact was severe enough it needed to be called, you should have called it a technical foul since the ball was dead. Two shots and the throw-in at half-court. False-multiple, not false-double.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
correct Snaqwells. if severe enough also, this can be flagrant as well...
__________________
16 yr HS official
8 yr NCAA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNF: Did I hear that correctly? OverAndBack Football 7 Tue Oct 11, 2005 02:11am
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm
Nitpickin' the Details Correctly rainmaker Basketball 20 Mon Feb 16, 2004 05:47pm
Now I am wondering if I called it correctly. RecRef Basketball 11 Sun Jan 25, 2004 01:47pm
Corrected correctly Hawks Coach Basketball 3 Mon Apr 28, 2003 06:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1