![]() |
|
|
|||
Is the reason that this is not a correctable error because only one player went after the rebound?
What if the OP said that both A2 and B2 went for the rebound and B2 got it and scored and a)one official blew his whistle because two shots had been awarded or b)no official blows the whistle to stop play until the desk signals that there is a problem prior to B putting the ball in play? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
I read it which sparked the question/confusion.
I also read 2.10.1 B. Does 8.6.1 deal with an immediate known error while 2.10.1 deals with an error that is not immediately discovered? |
|
|||
8.6.1 deals with an official's mistake.
2.10.1b deals with a correctable error of not awarding a merited FT. The original post is not a correctable error because a unmerited FT was not awarded, as the second FT was never shot. The officlal gave the wrong info to both teams. To allow A2 to keep the ball because he rebounded it would unfair to B. Further, allowing A to keep the basket, which is what NVRef suggested, would be even more unfair. Nothing in 2-10 or 2.10 has anything to do with this play. It's a completely different sitch from a rule standpoint.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Oct 08, 2008 at 07:08pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is similar to the discussion that we had last year about the FT shooter losing the ball and then stepping into the lane to chase after it BEFORE an official sounded a whistle. Even you said that was a violation on the shooter BY RULE. Here is a link to that thread: Free Throw Violation Of course, that debate is now moot due to the new part b of 9.1.1. PS Please note that I did not suggest that Team A be allowed to keep the basket. ![]() |
|
|||
Let me see...no,....nothing there....no......nope. Nowhere did I say that you said it was fair. I simply made my own observation.
Quote:
Quote:
The OP is a dead ball sitaution. Of course, that debate is now moot due to the new part b of 9.1.1. Quote:
![]() Then, what does this suggest? "Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled." Make up your mind.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Oct 09, 2008 at 09:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() and you... ![]() ![]() ![]() This play is analogous to our previous discussion of that FT violation and my position is exactly the same as it was in there. BY RULE this is a legal goal and there is nothing in the book that permits the official to cancel the score after it has happened. However, a good official will bend the rules in this situation. ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Official mistake on free throw | oldschool | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 05, 2008 06:09am |
AP Mistake | jdw3018 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:20am |
Official scorer mistake | just another ref | Baseball | 18 | Wed May 26, 2004 10:55am |
Another ASA mistake? | greymule | Softball | 6 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm |
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official | CLAY | Basketball | 22 | Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm |