View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 06:14pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
No, he has not scored a legal goal. The ball is dead when he rebounds it.
Really??? What makes it dead?--The official incorrectly saying two shots? I don't think so. It was supposed to be 1-and-1 and the ball was properly made live during the FT and remains live on the miss. I disagree 100% with your assertion that the ball is dead at this time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The case play is clear, at least to most eveyone else. There's nothing magical about shooting a dead ball.
Yep, the case play definitely is clear, "Play should be whistled dead immediately..." The ball clearly isn't already dead. It needs to be whistled dead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Then, what does this suggest?

"Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled."
I was simply...



and you...





This play is analogous to our previous discussion of that FT violation and my position is exactly the same as it was in there. BY RULE this is a legal goal and there is nothing in the book that permits the official to cancel the score after it has happened. However, a good official will bend the rules in this situation.
Reply With Quote