View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 03:28pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.
The OP and the case play have the same official's mistake. Neither play addresses blowing the whistle. The ruling addresses blowing the whistle. Whether it's blown before or after a player rebounds and shoots the ball, the ruling and principle are the same.

The case play clearly says B is placed at an disadvantage if A is allowed to keep the ball simply because he rebounded. Yet, you say he can keep the ball and score with it?

The rule reference at the end of the case play is 2-3. Does that tell you anything?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Feb 11, 2009 at 09:09pm.
Reply With Quote