![]() |
|
|
|||
official mistake
the official informs the players along the free-throw lane that two free-throw's shall be awarded when a one and one bonus should have been attempted.on the attempted of the first shot,all players remain inactive except A2 who rebounds the ball and scores. the official is informed that he miss-informed the players , it should have been one and one. what happens at that point and does the basket count...
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The case play clearly says B is placed at an disadvantage if A is allowed to keep the ball simply because he rebounded. Yet, you say he can keep the ball and score with it? The rule reference at the end of the case play is 2-3. Does that tell you anything?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Feb 11, 2009 at 09:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Ball in Play When Free Throw is Missed A.R. 184. The official informs the players along the free throw lane that two free throws shall be awarded when a one-and-one bonus is in effect. (1) While all other players remain inactive, A2 rebounds the ball and successfully scores a goal. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players; or (2) B2 rebounds the ball and passes it to the official, who is positioned out of bounds. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players. RULING: The official’s misinformation to the players caused the inactivity. As a result, in both (1) and (2), the ball shall be put in play with the use of the alternating-possession arrow. In (1), A2’s goal shall not count. A1 did attempt his or her merited free throw, so there is no error to correct. When any time has elapsed off the game clock and the official has knowledge of this time, he or she shall rectify the situation.(Rule 8-5, 4-53.2.d and 5-11.1)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
How about that?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
All I know is that you're already in a world of hurt by informing the players wrong information in a FT situation and one team is going to have to burn an arrow but now you're going to allow one team to take advantage of that mistake and score an uncontested two points and let it stand?
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The NFHS basketball rules very clearly spell out how the ball becomes dead in 6-7. One of those items is "...An official's whistle is blown." It doesn't say that the official decides to sound the whistle. Sorry, try again. ![]() |
|
|||
I did one better. I deleted the e' thing.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Is the reason that this is not a correctable error because only one player went after the rebound?
What if the OP said that both A2 and B2 went for the rebound and B2 got it and scored and a)one official blew his whistle because two shots had been awarded or b)no official blows the whistle to stop play until the desk signals that there is a problem prior to B putting the ball in play? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Official mistake on free throw | oldschool | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 05, 2008 06:09am |
AP Mistake | jdw3018 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:20am |
Official scorer mistake | just another ref | Baseball | 18 | Wed May 26, 2004 10:55am |
Another ASA mistake? | greymule | Softball | 6 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm |
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official | CLAY | Basketball | 22 | Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm |