The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
Why isn't this handled...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Well, here's the twist that comes to mind, and I might be over-thinking it...

An umpire does not want to tip their hand on an appeal play, but two runners occupying the same base is not an appeal play. We also can't honor "accidental appeals," which means we have to know WHY the defense is tagging the runner.

So what do we say when they make the tag? Sure, we can call the out, but if the OC asks you why, which reason do you give him/her?

Secondly, does R2 legally occupy 2B?
just like a live ball appeal. Afterall, when with a runner on 1st there is a line drive to the second baseman he catches the line drive and immediately throws to first to double off the runner...this would be a live ball appeal correct?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Occupying Free throw Spaces NURef Basketball 26 Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:22pm
Two runners occupying the same base Bart Softball 18 Wed Sep 06, 2006 02:36pm
Occupying Lanre Spaces ?? vawils Basketball 10 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:14pm
2 runners occupying the same base ... 3afan Softball 16 Tue May 18, 2004 09:11pm
Lane Violation--occupying bottom spot(NCAA) Buckley Basketball 3 Wed Jan 19, 2000 03:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1