Well, here's the twist that comes to mind, and I might be over-thinking it...
An umpire does not want to tip their hand on an appeal play, but two runners occupying the same base is not an appeal play. We also can't honor "accidental appeals," which means we have to know WHY the defense is tagging the runner.
So what do we say when they make the tag? Sure, we can call the out, but if the OC asks you why, which reason do you give him/her?
Secondly, does R2 legally occupy 2B?
__________________
Dave
I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!
Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!
I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
|