The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Occupying the same base

Okay, let me toss this one out there. This one may be simple, but there's a twist I'm not 100% certain of.

ASA Rules, but interested if there are any rulesets with variations on this sitch.

R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, no outs. B3 hits a long fly ball to the right field. R1 takes off on the hit. R2 initially stays, but leaves the base two steps before the ball is caught. R1 makes it just shy of 3B, realizes the ball is caught and heads back. R2 is already standing on 2B when R1 returns. Both are standing on the base. Defense tags R2, then R1.

What do you do?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Ball was caught, so R1 was not force to vacate second base. R2 is out regardless of who is tagged first. Had the ball been not caught in the outfield, then R1 would be out since she has been forced off second base.

I'm not sure if the "twist" you are referring to is R2 leaving too soon or not. I would not interpret the defensive team's actions as an appeal of R2 leaving too soon.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E.M.O.
Posts: 57
It is R1's base......since the ball was caught and they went back because they knew they had to tag and then knew they did not have time. R2 was out--base coaches were bad? lol

What call GOT made?
__________________
Karen

"It is useful to look back and to look forward as well. Always remember, though, that now is where you are, and now is when you can make a difference." Ralph Marston

Special Olympic Athlete's Oath:
"Let me win. But if I can not win, let me be brave in the attempt."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf24 View Post
It is R1's base......since the ball was caught and they went back because they knew they had to tag and then knew they did not have time. R2 was out--base coaches were bad? lol

What call GOT made?
Wasn't my game. Just want to see what y'all say. This was asked by a player on another forum.

The call that WAS made was clearly the wrong call, though. That much was certain.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
There's really no twist here at all. Leaving a base early is a nothing unless someone appeals it. At this point in the play, all you have is 2 runners on a base - which is handled rather easily.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Well, here's the twist that comes to mind, and I might be over-thinking it...

An umpire does not want to tip their hand on an appeal play, but two runners occupying the same base is not an appeal play. We also can't honor "accidental appeals," which means we have to know WHY the defense is tagging the runner.

So what do we say when they make the tag? Sure, we can call the out, but if the OC asks you why, which reason do you give him/her?

Secondly, does R2 legally occupy 2B?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Occupying Free throw Spaces NURef Basketball 26 Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:22pm
Two runners occupying the same base Bart Softball 18 Wed Sep 06, 2006 02:36pm
Occupying Lanre Spaces ?? vawils Basketball 10 Thu Feb 10, 2005 05:14pm
2 runners occupying the same base ... 3afan Softball 16 Tue May 18, 2004 09:11pm
Lane Violation--occupying bottom spot(NCAA) Buckley Basketball 3 Wed Jan 19, 2000 03:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1