
Mon May 24, 2010, 08:30pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
|
|
Why isn't this handled...
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Well, here's the twist that comes to mind, and I might be over-thinking it...
An umpire does not want to tip their hand on an appeal play, but two runners occupying the same base is not an appeal play. We also can't honor "accidental appeals," which means we have to know WHY the defense is tagging the runner.
So what do we say when they make the tag? Sure, we can call the out, but if the OC asks you why, which reason do you give him/her?
Secondly, does R2 legally occupy 2B?
|
just like a live ball appeal. Afterall, when with a runner on 1st there is a line drive to the second baseman he catches the line drive and immediately throws to first to double off the runner...this would be a live ball appeal correct?
|