The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?
Incomplete pass. Anything else here is looking for trouble.

You may be thinking of casebook 7.5.2B here, but in that play, the ball hits the snapper's foot and rebounds into the air, where the QB catches it and spikes it again. The SECOND pass is the one that is illegal, not the first.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
2nd play is incomplete. The QB has to throw the ball forward to the ground. The rule book does not say that it cannot hit another player in the process of throwing it to the ground. I agree that calling anything else but incomplete is fishing for trouble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two play situations Bob M. Football 15 Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:37pm
Couple of play situations bigwes68 Baseball 5 Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:29am
I need help for 2 situations Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:45pm
2 situations schmitty1973 Football 2 Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am
Federation Play Situations LJ_966 Football 10 Sun Aug 12, 2001 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1