The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety

Last edited by slack74; Tue Sep 21, 2010 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack74 View Post
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety
Um ... what?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 03:09pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack74 View Post
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety
Objection your honor, asked and answered.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
In the OP the snap went into the end zone...force is a A/K's snap, meaning we will either have a safety against A/K or a touchdown for B/R (assuming they get possession)

What happens after the ball goes into the end zone cannot change the force that put it there.

R's kick assuming that the OPer meant an intentional act of kicking, then all-but-one 15 yards from previous spot or decline it for a safety.

If though instead and more likely R's kick was inadvertant to an attempt to recover for a touchdown, then when the ball goes out of the end zone it is a safety, as R's touching is nothing more than a muff on a ball K's responsible for putting in the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
In the OP the snap went into the end zone...force is a A/K's snap, meaning we will either have a safety against A/K or a touchdown for B/R (assuming they get possession)
Well ... you're kind of omitting one other significant possibility ... K recovers the ball and manages to either run it out or kick it out. This is not, defacto, a TD or Safety ... yet.

Quote:
R's kick assuming that the OPer meant an intentional act of kicking, then all-but-one 15 yards from previous spot or decline it for a safety.
Not really much of an option, eh? K is keeping the ball, 15 yards from the original LOS... maybe even with a first down.

Quote:
If though instead and more likely R's kick was inadvertant to an attempt to recover for a touchdown, then when the ball goes out of the end zone it is a safety, as R's touching is nothing more than a muff on a ball K's responsible for putting in the end zone.
Yup.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2010, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
Dead Horse?

OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?

In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard....oh, would someone help me here because I am twisting all out of shape!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2010, 11:28am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?
No. Check the definition of force in Rule 2. No new force can be imparted on the ball while it is in the endzone.

Quote:
In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard
This is basic all but one enforcement. Go through the steps of penalty enforcement and you will get your answer.

What type of play is it? (Loose ball or running)

Who committed the foul? (Offense or Defense)

What is the spot of the foul?

Where is the basic spot?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2010, 11:30am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
OK, I am growing more confused as the thread goes on. The force putting the ball into the end-zone was the snap. However, it is still a live ball, so should I not be more concerned on the force that propelled the ball out of the endzone?

In addition, it's a loose ball, so the penalty would be enforced from the spot (which is the goal line) and would be a 15 yard....oh, would someone help me here because I am twisting all out of shape!
(1) No. Read the rule 2 definition of force.

(2) It's a loose ball play. The basic spot is the previous spot. The all-but-one doesn't apply because the penalty is on R/B.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2010, 11:36am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Or Rich could give you the answers.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 22, 2010, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
(2) It's a loose ball play. The basic spot is the previous spot. The all-but-one doesn't apply because the penalty is on R/B.
Sorry Rich, but you've hit a peeve. ABO applies to (nearly) ALL fouls, which is the point of calling it "ALL but one."

It might not apply in the sense that fouls by R/B aren't the "one" mentioned in "all but one," but it DOES apply in the sense that fouls by R/B are among the "all."

In accordance with ABO, (nearly) all fouls by the defense are enforced from the basic spot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two play situations Bob M. Football 15 Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:37pm
Couple of play situations bigwes68 Baseball 5 Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:29am
I need help for 2 situations Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:45pm
2 situations schmitty1973 Football 2 Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am
Federation Play Situations LJ_966 Football 10 Sun Aug 12, 2001 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1