The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
2 play situations

1st play: 4th down and 10 from team A's own 20, snap goes over the punters head into the endzone where R kicks it out of the endzone. what are the options?

2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
1st Play:
If R unintentionally kicked as he tried to pick it up, it would be a safety.

If R intentionally kicks it out of the end zone, which makes no sense whatsoever, it would be penalized from the previous spot.

2nd Play: Incomplete pass.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Sep 20, 2010 at 10:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
[QUOTE=BktBallRef;693142]1st Play: No options, it's a safety.

even if R kicks it out of the endzone? it wasn't k.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 08:55pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
For the first play the result of the play is a safety. The penalty will be enforced 15 yards from the previous spot. 1st and 10 for A at the A-35.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
1st Play:
Agree with Welpe.
Loose ball play, enforced from previous spot,
1st and 10 for A at A's 35.

2nd Play:
Ruling: Intentional Grounding.
Spike attempt violated the exception provision
in Rule 7-5-2. Clock will start on Ready as attempt
to conserve time was done illegally.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
[quote=yankeesfan;693143]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
1st Play: No options, it's a safety.

even if R kicks it out of the endzone? it wasn't k.
Thanks. Didn't catch that. Edited.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Mon Sep 20, 2010 at 10:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
2nd Play: Incomplete pass.[/QUOTE]

i agree with the incomplete pass on the 2nd play situation. are there any other views on this?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
2nd play: 1st and 10 with 15 seconds left quarterback A1 from under center takes a snap and in an attempt to spike it, hits the center in the back of the leg and the ball goes to the ground. what is the call?
Incomplete pass. Anything else here is looking for trouble.

You may be thinking of casebook 7.5.2B here, but in that play, the ball hits the snapper's foot and rebounds into the air, where the QB catches it and spikes it again. The SECOND pass is the one that is illegal, not the first.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
2nd play is incomplete. The QB has to throw the ball forward to the ground. The rule book does not say that it cannot hit another player in the process of throwing it to the ground. I agree that calling anything else but incomplete is fishing for trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Edit: I missed that it was R who kicked the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC View Post
I'm sorry, but how are y'all getting previous spot enforcement on play 1? Foul by A behind the basic spot, spot of the foul enforcment. Foul by A in the end zone results in safety. Am I wrong?
The foul is by R/B, not A.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety

Last edited by slack74; Tue Sep 21, 2010 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack74 View Post
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety
Um ... what?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 03:09pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by slack74 View Post
NFHS You are correct it would be a safety foul behind the basic spot is penalised from the spot therefore its a safety
Objection your honor, asked and answered.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
In the OP the snap went into the end zone...force is a A/K's snap, meaning we will either have a safety against A/K or a touchdown for B/R (assuming they get possession)

What happens after the ball goes into the end zone cannot change the force that put it there.

R's kick assuming that the OPer meant an intentional act of kicking, then all-but-one 15 yards from previous spot or decline it for a safety.

If though instead and more likely R's kick was inadvertant to an attempt to recover for a touchdown, then when the ball goes out of the end zone it is a safety, as R's touching is nothing more than a muff on a ball K's responsible for putting in the end zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two play situations Bob M. Football 15 Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:37pm
Couple of play situations bigwes68 Baseball 5 Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:29am
I need help for 2 situations Rev.Ref63 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 16, 2005 03:45pm
2 situations schmitty1973 Football 2 Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am
Federation Play Situations LJ_966 Football 10 Sun Aug 12, 2001 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1