The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2011, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Without question, I would have went to him and asked him if his whistle was for touching the ball (goaltending) or slapping the backboard. If ball goes in no problem, the defensive team gets ball and canrun the line. If ball doesn't go in you have an inadverdant whistle and the result is an AP. If that is the situation then get both coaches together and let them know the deal.

As a result of the play, you had a blown rule and a technical becuase the CREW blew the rule........

If the guy got his feelings hurt, too bad !!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 10:13am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
He thought it was a judgment call, do you make it a habit to challenge your partners' judgment calls?
This is not a judgment call. The official incorrectly assessed a goaltending violation on a play due to not knowing the rule. If it were a close game and resulted in a technical foul on the coach the play went against shame on us. We can all be better that allowing that to happen.

On rules plays, I think the crew MUST get the interpretation correct at the expense of the calling official's ego. On judgment calls, you let your crew live and die.

As the crew chief, the supervisor has given him added authority for situations such as this. If he was the U1 or U2 then all you can do is provide the CC with information and hope they do what is right for the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
This is not a judgment call.
Did you read Rickman's followup post?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickman
I thought that he had B1 touching the ball on its way down. I didn't know he was misapplying the backboard rule.
Whether the ball is on its way down IS a judgment call.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 10:35am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Did you read Rickman's followup post?



Whether the ball is on its way down IS a judgment call.
oops....didn't see that. Yes, if he thought the defender touched the ball then there is nothing you can do other than review player coverage on tape to ensure that he had an open look.

My initial read was that he called the violation solely for the contact with the backboard.... this is among the most frequently misinterpreted rules.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 10:33am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
This is not a judgment call. The official incorrectly assessed a goaltending violation on a play due to not knowing the rule. If it were a close game and resulted in a technical foul on the coach the play went against shame on us. We can all be better that allowing that to happen.

On rules plays, I think the crew MUST get the interpretation correct at the expense of the calling official's ego. On judgment calls, you let your crew live and die.

As the crew chief, the supervisor has given him added authority for situations such as this. If he was the U1 or U2 then all you can do is provide the CC with information and hope they do what is right for the game.
Maybe in your world. We have no "crew chiefs" here (other than for scheduling purposes in some conferences) and the R only has the power to resolve disagreements on whether goals count or not and to rule on items not specifically covered in the rules (these are specifically outlined in the NFHS Officials Manual).

Snaq's point is that the off official *thought* the ball got touched on the way down -- it wasn't obvious to him it was called only because the backboard was slapped. In that situation, do you actually stop the game...on a guess?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
On rules plays, I think the crew MUST get the interpretation correct at the expense of the calling official's ego. On judgment calls, you let your crew live and die.

As the crew chief, the supervisor has given him added authority for situations such as this. If he was the U1 or U2 then all you can do is provide the CC with information and hope they do what is right for the game.
Absolutely nothing wrong with these statements.

In my area, the assignor usually books the most experienced official as the R. That doesn't mean he can't screw up or is always right. But if there's a screwup, guess he the assignor is calling. So while there may not be anymore authority per the rule book, there is an expectation from the assignor. If that's not the case in your area, great.

Nowhere did he say he would change the call. He made it clear that the calling official would have to change the call.

If you know I misapplied a rule and you don't have the balls to come to me and discuss it, then you don't have an R's mentality.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickman5 View Post

The goal shakes and ball falls out. I hold off on my whistle because I felt like he was attempting to block the shot.
Attempting.....But DID he block the shot? If not, you have a quick "T" for the vibration making the ball fall out...No goal tending on that, but two shots plus the ball. Faster reaction time and better communication with your partner may have averted a fiasco, I'm just saying'.......
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 01:01am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by refiator View Post
Attempting.....But DID he block the shot? If not, you have a quick "T" for the vibration making the ball fall out...No goal tending on that, but two shots plus the ball. Faster reaction time and better communication with your partner may have averted a fiasco, I'm just saying'.......
Say what?

If a player makes a legit attempt at blocking the ball and hits the backboard, you can cause the basket to shake till kingdom come and it's still legal under NFHS rules.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Say what?

If a player makes a legit attempt at blocking the ball and hits the backboard, you can cause the basket to shake till kingdom come and it's still legal under NFHS rules.
I'm assuming the slap was intentional on a missed block, causing the ring to vibrate, and the ball falls clear.....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 01:07am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by refiator View Post
I'm assuming the slap was intentional on a missed block, causing the ring to vibrate, and the ball falls clear.....
If the defender attempts to block a shot and the same motion hits the backboard, play on.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 01:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by refiator View Post
I'm assuming the slap was intentional on a missed block, causing the ring to vibrate, and the ball falls clear.....
Huh? Slap was intentional on a missed block? I'm not catching your meaning.

You have to make a judgment call: was the slap part of a legitimate attempt to make a play on the ball, or was it not? If so, T. If not, play on.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 09:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by refiator View Post
I'm assuming the slap was intentional on a missed block, causing the ring to vibrate, and the ball falls clear.....
Do you have a rules citation for this? A great myth that is never accompanied by a quote from the rule or case book.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 10:14am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Do you have a rules citation for this? A great myth that is never accompanied by a quote from the rule or case book.
That explains the entire team who stood making a T signal when their opponent hit the backboard on a missed block attempt. I put them in timeout.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,397
Where's Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. When You Need Him ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
If a player makes a legit attempt at blocking the ball and hits the backboard, you can cause the basket to shake till kingdom come and it's still legal under NFHS rules.
Not true about twenty-five years ago. I believe that the rule, back then, stated that if the backboard shook to a certain degree, that an official could charge a technical foul. There are still still some old coaches coaching, and some old officials officiating.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2011, 04:45pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Not true about twenty-five years ago. I believe that the rule, back then, stated that if the backboard shook to a certain degree, that an official could charge a technical foul. There are still still some old coaches coaching, and some old officials officiating.
You'll have to forgive me for not knowing that...seeing as I wasn't even alive yet.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does ball off backboard affect Goaltending/BI? Matt S. Basketball 15 Wed Feb 16, 2011 04:32pm
Backboard slap jodibuck Basketball 37 Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:47am
Backboard slap Nevadaref Basketball 12 Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:43am
intentional slap ctpfive Basketball 15 Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:00am
Intentional slap of backboard TriggerMN Basketball 2 Wed Dec 17, 2003 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1