The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Goaltending on Backboard Slap

BV game tonight that I was the crew chief for. Had an interesting scenario that I'd like some input on.

I'm in the C opposite table and A1 drives to the basket from my primary to shoot a layup. B1 jumps to attempt to block the shot, misses the ball (barely) but hits the backboard. The goal shakes and ball falls out. I hold off on my whistle because I felt like he was attempting to block the shot. My partner (at the trail) comes in and calls goal tending. I figure he just kicked the call and thought B1 hit the ball on the way down. Team B's coach goes ballistic, gets T'ed up, and we have a four point swing.

We talk about the play after the game and the official told me he called the goal tending not because he hit the ball, but because he slapped the backboard. I explained to him the rule (either technical foul or nothing) and we moved on.

My question is if we caught that rule misinterpretation during the game, could we have ruled it an inadvertent whistle and went to the arrow for possession?

Last edited by rickman5; Tue Dec 27, 2011 at 10:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 09:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Assuming you caught it before the T, yes.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 10:15pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
My only question is, why would Team A's coach go ballistic on a call that favored his team? Did you mean Coach B?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
My only question is, why would Team A's coach go ballistic on a call that favored his team? Did you mean Coach B?
Yeah I meant Coach B
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 10:22pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Had this same situation several years ago.Communication to get call straight
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 27, 2011, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickman5 View Post
My question is if we caught that rule misinterpretation during the game, could we have ruled it an inadvertent whistle and went to the arrow for possession?
Hard to say for sure, but I *might*be going in and asking "what do you have?" to see if we can't get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Why would you not get together and tell him that his call is wrong at the time and fix the problem?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 12:53am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
...many officials call this because it is the path of least resistance on this type of play. Count the basket and move one - easy enough for many right? Except it isn't the correct rule application.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 01:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
My first varsity game ever I had the exact same play happen. I went home and looked up the ruling and will never make that mistake again. In my case, neither coach ever said a peep and they both just accepted it, but that didn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 01:16am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
This is a tough scenario. By rule you CANNOT have a goaltending or basket interference call on this play. It is either a Technical foul or a play on.

The coach obviously knew the crew misapplied the rule and was well within is right to be upset. I am not happy calling a T to compound matters but sometimes guys lose their minds.

As the crew chief, we have to remember our #1 responsibility is to the game. In this situation, the right call was a no-call. I would do the best thing for the game and correct a misapplication of the rules. In other words wipe the violation and scored basket and going to the arrow. We have to display trust in our partners, but there are rare instances... a rules misinterpretation being one where you cannot be worried about hurting someone's ego or feelings. The calling official put the crew in a bad situation in the first place. As crew chief, you cannot allow that to happen and should have that understanding in the pregame that you make all final calls on a rules issue. If you let that go down and your name is on the game report as crew chief, your supervisor cannot defend your inactions.

This is easier said than done... especially from the confines of a computer screen versus in the heat of the moment in a tight ballgame. Hopefully this is a good learning situation for the crew. I would make sure your 3rd understands the rule moving forward...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 01:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
He thought it was a judgment call, do you make it a habit to challenge your partners' judgment calls?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 01:34am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
He thought it was a judgment call, do you make it a habit to challenge your partners' judgment calls?
Some people (not necessarily who you're asking) apparently do.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 07:12am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,869
Who You Gonna Call ???



The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. (NFHS)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Why would you not get together and tell him that his call is wrong at the time and fix the problem?
I thought that he had B1 touching the ball on its way down. I didn't know he was misapplying the backboard rule. I didn't ask him about it because I wouldn't have been able to overturn his judgement call of B touching the ball or not.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2011, 10:00am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Some people (not necessarily who you're asking) apparently do.
Too many unfortunately.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does ball off backboard affect Goaltending/BI? Matt S. Basketball 15 Wed Feb 16, 2011 04:32pm
Backboard slap jodibuck Basketball 37 Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:47am
Backboard slap Nevadaref Basketball 12 Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:43am
intentional slap ctpfive Basketball 15 Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:00am
Intentional slap of backboard TriggerMN Basketball 2 Wed Dec 17, 2003 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1