The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 07, 2000, 05:33pm
JC JC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 28
Post

NF and NCAA can't agree on this either. It is my opinion that control and the violation occur at exactly the same time (i.e. when the ball is caught). So, somebody has to decide (by rule) which occurred first for consistency.
Unfortunately, NF and NCAA decided differently.

If A1 catches the ball, NF rule interpretation is that control was established, and then the violation. NF Case 6.3.1C(d): "...A1 had control when he/she caught the ball." So B gets the ball, AND the arrow.

Same play, NCAA interpretation is that the violation occurred before the possession.
NCAA Interpretation 6.2.5: "...A1 catches the tossed ball... The first legal possession is by B1 on the throw-in. As soon as the throw-in by B1 ends, the AP arrow is changed toward team A."
So B gets the ball, BUT A gets the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1