Thread: opening tip
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 09, 2000, 03:46am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Post

[/QUOTE] To get this rule right, and it does happen every once in a while, just remember two things: 1) A1 catching the ball establishes next possession for B the same way as if any member of A got possession legally after the tip and 2) the subsequent violation call has no effect on the already-established possession.[/B][/QUOTE]

I am going to memorize this paragraph to use as explanation to basically everyone if and when this happens in one of my games. Getting the rule straight in my head takes some work, but is do-able. Getting the call right takes practice and experience. Explanation to the rest of society takes wisdom far beyond my years, yet, so this is a big help! Thanks, Mark!

Reply With Quote