Thread: opening tip
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 29, 2000, 11:24am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Post

quote:
Originally posted by joselirizarry:
National Federation Of State High School Associations 1999-2000 Rules Book

Rule 4-3-ART.3 a (page25)
Alternating- possession control is estsblished and the inital direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent,s basket when:

A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control



Joselirizzary:

You forgot to quote the most important part. If we run together the various subitems as if they made one sentence it sounds like this:

"Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent's basket when...(Art 3)the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:...(item a) a violation during or following the jump before a player secures control." This means the arrow is not established until the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower.

My question is about the phrase, "before a player secures control." Did the jumper establish control enough that the rule quoted above doesn't apply. It appears to me the answer is no, but I can see how some folks might feel this is open to interpretation, and I can imagine different refs ruling different ways. Is there another rule that would give a more definitive "correct" interpretation? I can't find anything, but then I don't have the experience to guide me.
Reply With Quote