I know that NF rules are the main ones used on this board but as an official trying to understand ammerican based rules better, i came across a play in the 1999 version of the NCAA rule book in the Rule 6 of the interpretations section. Play 5 on page BI-27 states.
"During the opening jump ball, A1 illegally catches the tossed ball. The referr blows the whistle and awards the ball to B1 out of bounds at the division line.. How is the alternating-possession arrow established.?
RULING: The fist legal possession is by B1 on the throw-in. As soon as the throw-in by Team B ends. The alternating-possession arrow is changed towards Team A."
My understanding of the rule and interpretations is that after the violation by the jumper, the arrow will remain unset, that is not pointing in either direction, until a team establish possession.
Oh by the way the National Federation of High School Associations and the NCAA rules bodies were both using this Interpretation as of 1999.
Keep smiling..
|