Thread: opening tip
View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 02, 2000, 04:21pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

quote:
Originally posted by Alaska Ref:
I believe Rainmaker has it right!

The jumpers can not establish "control" until a couple of things happen---Ball hits the floor, a non-jumper or the backboard. It's a violation but some are saying you have to have "control" to violate.

Question: A-1 is standing with one foot on the sideline, the ball becomes loose and hits A-1 (who causes the ball to be "out of bounds") a violation by rule, but did A-1 have control? If jumper A-1 taps the ball out of bounds team B gets the ball for a throw-in and the "first possession" and establish's the Alternating Possession sequence, but did the jumper have control?



It makes things easier if you remember two things: 1) definition of player control - player control is defined as a player dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds and 2) loss of team control - a team loses control is one of the following ways a) the other team gains control, b) there is a dead ball, c) there is a try or tap.

In your question above, A1, who is standing with one foot on the sideline, could not have had "control" even if he had caught the ball first before losing it OOB, since he was OOB due to his foot being on the line. He would not have been dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds, hence no player control possible.

Reply With Quote