The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Play 1.
A1 passes to A2 – from top of key to wing area, outside 3pt line.

Play 2
A1 throws ball to the basket from outside the 3pt line, ball is short of Rim and falls below Rim

In Play 2, if B3 hits the ball after it is below the Rim, we have a case play that says it is only worth two points as the try has ended.

In both plays the thrown balls do not have a chance to go in, therefore they are not considered a try (or the try has ended).

How does play 1 differ from play 2?

In play 1 if B3 hits the ball below the rim and it goes into the basket, why would you award 3pts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
Play 1.
A1 passes to A2 – from top of key to wing area, outside 3pt line.

In play 1 if B3 hits the ball below the rim and it goes into the basket, why would you award 3pts?
Because A1 started an action (throwing the ball from outside the 3-point arc) that ended with the live ball (still in team A's control) going through A's basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
So how is that different then the case play (play 2)? That was a live ball that started from outside the 3pt line and went into the basket. We award 2pts for this play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
Play 1.
A1 passes to A2 – from top of key to wing area, outside 3pt line.

Play 2
A1 throws ball to the basket from outside the 3pt line, ball is short of Rim and falls below Rim

In Play 2, if B3 hits the ball after it is below the Rim, we have a case play that says it is only worth two points as the try has ended.

In both plays the thrown balls do not have a chance to go in, therefore they are not considered a try (or the try has ended).

How does play 1 differ from play 2?
Play 1 is the result of A's throwing action. Play 2 is the result of B3's action.

No team control during a shot. The shot is given the opportunity to end. When it ends, the ball has no "ownership" (can't think of a better word) and the next action started is the touch by B3.

B3 cannot score a three-point goal in A's basket. No matter B3's location. If B3 got the rebound, ran out beyond A's 3-point arc and threw the ball into A's basket, it would still be 2 points. The two actions by B3 described here are treated the same by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
Play 2
A1 throws ball to the basket from outside the 3pt line, ball is short of Rim and falls below Rim
What you have stated is defined as a try in the rule book.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
What you have stated is defined as a try in the rule book.
Disagree. The definition of a try specifies intent: A try.....is an attempt....to score........

The thrown ball could obviously be a pass attempt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Disagree. The definition of a try specifies intent: A try.....is an attempt....to score........

The thrown ball could obviously be a pass attempt.
How convenient for you. You decide to leave out a bunch of words. Let me do that, too.

"A try is...throwing the ball...to a team's own basket."


A pass attempt is to a teammate.

He said, "A1 throws ball to the basket from outside the 3pt line,..."

The basket is NOT a teammate.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Dec 22, 2010 at 06:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
So....from outside the 3pt line.

A pass from A1 to A2 - that does not have a chance to go in, deflects off B3 into the basket - we award 3pts.

A try by A1 - that does not have a chance to go in (try ends), defects off B3 into the basket - we award 2pts.

_____
A1 lobs ball into A2 post play - not a try - as the ball does not have a chance to go in (5 feet short), B2 jumps to deflect the ball and it goes in. Since this was a pass, 3pts.

A1 lobs ball into A2 post play, possible try as the ball still has a chance to go in, seeing the ball is less then 1 ft short - I deemed it to be a try. As the ball falls below the rim, B2 jumps to deflect the ball and it goes in. Since I "thought" this was a try, only 2pts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
So....from outside the 3pt line.

A pass from A1 to A2 - that does not have a chance to go in, deflects off B3 into the basket - we award 3pts.

A try by A1 - that does not have a chance to go in (try ends), defects off B3 into the basket - we award 2pts.

_____
A1 lobs ball into A2 post play - not a try - as the ball does not have a chance to go in (5 feet short), B2 jumps to deflect the ball and it goes in. Since this was a pass, 3pts.

A1 lobs ball into A2 post play, possible try as the ball still has a chance to go in, seeing the ball is less then 1 ft short - I deemed it to be a try. As the ball falls below the rim, B2 jumps to deflect the ball and it goes in. Since I "thought" this was a try, only 2pts.
If you meant that A1's action in all 4 sitchs started beyond the 3-point arc, I agree with your rulings.

In your last sitch, you "judged" it to be a try. So you rule on it as a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Face mask-pass or no pass... buckrog64 Football 13 Mon Oct 01, 2007 04:08pm
Pass Play: Inelgible/Pass Int or Nothing BoBo Football 10 Fri Sep 07, 2007 08:49am
forward pass/backwards pass cyrick Football 8 Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1